Skip to content

My Aunt Diane

June 22, 2004

Now for a serious turn.

My Aunt is dying. She is close to death. She went once already (last week), but was brought back. They weren’t supposed to. She and my uncle had signed a DNR (do not resucitate). I recognize that she must still be alive for a reason (my wife has some wise theories), but I am still pissed at people I don’t know. That’s a weird feeling.

I would like to take a moment to honor her. The doctors expect her to go soon. She will see her Savior. Face to face she will witness the glory I long for, deeply I long for it. She will soon not be hindered by the frailties of her fallen body. Soon she will see the Throne. I do not know what to pray, so I pray it would come quickly.

Diane is a strong, godly woman.  I have heard of the amazing faith of my Aunt. She married my divorced uncle, I don’t even know how many years ago. As far as I know, my uncle was not a Christian, and may or may not be now. But I know Diane is. Her love for the Lord is inescapable. It the couple of times I met her.

Diane fulfills as much as I can know Peter’s command to win her husband through her actions, not her words. “In the same way, you wives, be submissive to your own husbands so that even if any of them are disobedient to the word, they may be won without a word by the behavior of their wives, as they observe your chaste and respectful behavior. Your adornment must not be merely external – braiding the hair, and wearing gold jewelry, or putting on dresses; but let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is precious in the sight of God.” (1 Peter 3:1-4).

Diane understands these words, and I would imagine, even now in her final days, continues to live them out. May she see her Savior soon. He is waiting for her.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

