Skip to content

April 8, 2005

This, ladies and gentlemen, is starting to push it.  I’m all for teaching kids to be healthy, but messing with something as iconic, as established as Cookie Monster?  Please.  It’s like watering down… umm… watering down… well, it’s stupid.  (Be amazed at my astounding logic)

Is this all part of Kaiser Permanente’s new ad campaign? (a line of which says, "we believe fruit makes a wonderful dessert").

side note: when I was looking for sites on the new $40 mil expenditure, I came across some folks who aren’t too pleased with the ol’ KP.  Bitter much?

Now, for the record, Steph and I have had nothing but good fortune with the KP folks and have enjoyed our service there (we have a KP facility across the street from our apartment).  And quite frankly, with the birth of our daughter soon approaching, I really don’t want to know all of KP’s faults (I know they exist, just like any other HMO.)  But can somebody digest the bitterness for me and summarize what the overall complaint is?  (It’s probably guessable, but still). 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2005 8:01 am

    Listening to the radio this morning I heard the following responses to Cookie Monster:

    “Are they going to get rid of Oscar because bums live in garbage cans?”

    “Cookie Monster has a great schtick: he obsesses over one thing to the exclusion of all other thing; it’s just like most adults”

  2. Slothboy permalink
    April 8, 2005 8:55 am

    This makes me want to fly into a rage. A blind, white hot rage. Cookie Monster is cool because every kid wants to go banannas and eat cookies until they explode.

    If they are going to “fix” cookie monster then they need to take a look at their recent (at least they are new since I was a kid) new characters like Elmo and Baby Bear who both talk like they have severe learning disabilities. In fact, let’s do away with “monsters” altogether because monsters are inherently frightening. Lets switch to a bunch of gender-nonspecific mauve creatures that speak exactly half spanish and half english and only talk about loving everybody. And math. Loving everybody and math. That would rule.

    (don’t get me started on how gay The Count is now.)

    trashes his own office

  3. April 12, 2005 10:07 pm

    Derek –

    My wife comments that what you described has already been done. The Teletubbies.

  4. Slothboy permalink
    April 14, 2005 1:43 pm

    Don’t get me started on the Teletubbies. Or Boobah for that matter.

    How I long for the PBS of my youth. I think Madi will be better off watching CNN.

Leave a Reply

