Skip to content

Dr Tim would be disappointed

April 30, 2005

tractor goodnessbecause it wasn’t a John Deer, but yes, ladies and gentlemen, today saw my first ride on a riding lawn mower.  It was grand.  Steph’s folks moved recently out into the boon docks of Battleground, WA.  Three gorgeous acres with plenty of trees, a creek, a pond and a great view. First big purchase for the new house:  the black version of this beauty.  When we got up there today, Dad had just finished mowing a patch. He left the mower out. So when we came out front later to sit and enjoy the sunshine, he let me take it for a spin.  I repeat: it was grand.  There’s just something about being out there that stirs my soul…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2005 10:38 pm

    From sixth grade to my second year of college, every Thursday afternoon between April and October, I was on my grandparent’s riding lawnmower, mowing their lawn and their neighbors’. It was just about an acre. It was just about awesome.

    What is it about mowing a lawn that stirs a man’s soul? Is it the power of riding on swirling blades of death? Is it that we’re bringing order to the chaos of a bad lawn? I’m not sure what it is, but I know it is great.

    I’m glad that you’ve had this experience, Hutch!

  2. May 1, 2005 2:40 pm

    “So I’ve got two John Deeres… well, that’s not quite right, one of them’s the wife’s… have I mentioned this class is sponsored by Snapple?”

Leave a Reply

