Skip to content

Bring it on

June 6, 2005

Hp6coverAbout a week to polish off the first one.

Less than a week for the second.

Full week for the third.

Right around a month for the fourth.

20 days to finish the fifth. I finished Order of the Phoenix just after 3am Sunday morning.  Second night in a row of staying up til 3 to read it.

Call me a sucker, but I didn’t see the ending coming. The fourth was more entertaining: ‘cooler’ stuff, some how more ‘swashbuckling’, more light-hearted (until the last couple of chapters).  The fifth, however, was intense.  Full of emotion.  Full of friends bailing each other out.  Full of grief.  I think Rowling is becoming a better writer.  I think she was continually testing the waters as she went along and found that her readers would allow her to go deeper and deeper.  This one was a full-on novel.  Not a kid’s book.  A novel.

There was so much to this one.  So much more about Harry’s past and his future.  So much more of Harry struggling (emotionally) through everything. Harry and Cho.  A temporary arch-villian in Professor Umbridge.  The Weasley twins’ exit.  Dumbledore cleaning house (multiple times!).  Some seriously quotable passages.  Like this one from Dumbledore before he tells Harry about the prophecy:

‘Harry, I owe you an explanation,’ said Dumbledore. ‘An explanation of an old man’s mistakes.  For I see now that what I have done, and not done, with regard to you, bears all the hallmarks of the failings of age.  Youth cannot know how age thinks and feels.  But old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young… and I seem to have forgotten lately…’

These books (more so numbers four and five) should be in a college class (English, not science… though that is cool).  This is grade A stuff.  Rowling can write.  There is some serious literary analysis that could be done here.  As evidenced by this treasure trove of HP goodness.

I am greatly looking forward to the release of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.  It’s gonna be a while before I can get it from the library, but I have moved up nine spots…

For those who can’t wait either, whatever you do, this is the wrong way to go about getting your copy.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg permalink
    June 7, 2005 11:16 am

    Like the Sparky link. Great site, good find. July 16th isn’t that far away.

  2. June 7, 2005 2:08 pm

    Any guesses who the half-blood prince is? Rowling has stated that it’s not Harry or Voldemort.

    Is it a new character? Is it someone we already know? My vote is Hagrid. He’s half giant, half wizard. He’s like two half-bloods, and I think that, just maybe, in Rowling’s world that works.

    What do you think?

  3. June 7, 2005 4:05 pm

    Greg, yeah, I was stoked to stumble across that one.

    Tr, good call with the Hagrid guess. Definitely could work. As for my guess… I’m going with Neville. In number 5 he made huge strides in his abilities (thanks to the D.A. class), and I just got the sense he would become more involved in the story. Especially since the Death Eaters are back on the scene and they jacked his parents. Also, he was the other possibility of being the one to fulfill the prophecy. So is he the prince while Harry’s the king?

    Plus, he’s the first half blood I could think of other than Harry. 🙂

  4. June 7, 2005 7:59 pm

    I was going to question your statement that these books belong in a college English class, but since I’ve never read them, I really can’t. I want to, though, for the sake of discussion, so here’s an open challenge.

    HP novels cost up to 3000 yen here in Osaka, which is more than I want to pay for a paperback copy of anything. I can afford to buy one of the series. Just one.

    So, which on should I buy? I’ll leave it to the jury here. Pick what you think is the best one (don’t worry about order; I’m a big boy who can get a synopsis, if need be), the one you think goes beyond the realm of kiddy books, and into the sacred lands of Literature. So, c’mon. Show me Rowling at her best.

    Sorry for hijacking the post, Hutch.

    Excellent.

  5. June 8, 2005 5:50 am

    Good challenge E. I’ve been going thru the library, so I haven’t been looking at cost… hmmm…. just one… I’d have to go with either four or five. I will think some more on this and get back later today. My initial hunch puts me saying Order of the Phoenix should be the way to go because although four is a great story with some really cool stuff, I think the writing of five is … what’s the word… stronger. I’ll comment again later

  6. June 8, 2005 7:59 am

    Hmm…Neville is actually a full blood wizard. I think the Prince is a new character, although I agree that Hagrid could work. Another idea is what if it’s Snape and we’re reading Half-Blood wrong. There is speculation that Snape is a vampire or part vampire…so what if he’s a half Blood-Prince? wiggling eyebrows I’m excited for the book to come out, too. =D

  7. June 8, 2005 8:02 am

    What? Neville’s full blood? ah crap, you’re right. there goes my HP cred.

  8. Jen permalink
    June 8, 2005 8:27 am

    Have you guys seen the preview for “The Goblet of Fire” movie? It looks excellent! I went to the movies with some friends last week and they are still teasing me about my reaction to the preview. Apparently I was sitting on the edge of my seat with white knuckles because my hands were clasped together so tight and I was forgetting to breath. It did make my heart race…

  9. Slothboy permalink
    June 9, 2005 4:26 pm

    My personal guess to the HBP is Seamus Finnegan. He is one of the few characters in the book that actually states he is a half-blood. “Me mum’s a witch, me dad’s a muggle. Bit of a nasty shock for him when he found out.”

    The fact that in the first movie that is one of his few lines also lends some weight to that idea. Rowling also said the the HBP is a plot she considered exploring as part of “The Chamber of Secrets” but scrapped because it was taking up too much space. Concievably, it could be a completely new character, but I tend to think it is an already established one.

    Glad you liked Order of the Phoenix. Goblet of Fire is still my favorite book so far, but in OotP we get a lot of raw emotion that is really well presented. The end was definitely a suprise to me as well. In fact, when I was rereading it I knew what was coming but I still kept thinking, irrationally of course, “maybe it will turn out better this time.”

    Good times.

Leave a Reply

