Skip to content

Baby Update—Induction

June 15, 2005

Steph had her 40 week doc appointment today.  Everything’s cool.  But she’s not dilated at all.  So… more waiting.  But not for too much longer.  We have an appointment at SouthWest Medical Center for next Tuesday night 11:45pm for her to be induced.

The doctor left it up to us (her).  Steph asked if there were any downsides to being induced.  "Nope."  Alrighty then, sign us up.

To be honest, I don’t really know how to process all of this.  I’m kinda in shock right now.  It’s weird knowing I could have a kid in a week.  I feel kinda frozen.  I know I should be praying about all of this.  For Elizabeth to be well and strong.  For Steph to have strength and endurance.  For my sanity and sleep.  I just.  I don’t know.  I’ve had a really hard time vocalizing things to God.  I think good thoughts.  I occasionally address God in my mind’s voice.  But man, that’s it.  Been like that for a while.  And now to know that Elizabeth is soon to come.  Over the top.

It’s been a crazy ride.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2005 8:02 am

    Well, looks like Greg or Aunt Lissa will win the baby pool. Congratulations on not having to wait much longer. Don’t worry, Hutch. You and Steph will be great parents! And you have the HS praying on your behalf.

  2. June 16, 2005 9:45 am

    Yeah, they’re definitely sitting in prime position.

    Thank you Jeana. I appreciate that a lot. And the reminder of the HS’ ministry is a good one.

  3. Slothboy permalink
    June 16, 2005 1:57 pm

    When Madi was coming I felt much the same way you do. It is scary as hell and when you try to imagine what is about to change about your life it is overwhelming and you will pretty much decide there is no way on this Earth that you will be able to handle it.

    Once the little sucker is born, things just function. You will figure it out almost without knowing how you did it. Remember, people all over the world in terrible conditions (by US standards anyway) successfully raise children all the time. God has placed in you the ability to be an amazing father. You will also discover that your wife can transform into Superwoman. I don’t know how they do it… but mothers who are dedicated to their children have more patience and caring than you can possibly imagin

    Even if you are having trouble vocalizing prayers, God hears the prayers of your heart and will give you strength for whatever comes. When Kacyn was coming I felt the same fears all over again because how was I supposed to handle TWO kids? Guess what? Once she came out we fell into the old routines and things are going swimmingly. The system works. Mad props to the designer.

    By the way, getting induced is not dangerous by any means, but Pitocin (the drug they use to induce labor) causes more painful contractions. I’m told the difference is significant. Just something Stephanie may want to prepare for.

    Good luck and Godspeed.

  4. Molly permalink
    June 17, 2005 9:42 am

    Wow, only a few days to go. I’ve heard the same thing about Pitocin—rip, roaring contractions. Also, talk to your DR and try to get a realistic idea of what will happen—it’s not a for sure thing. I.e. If she never goes into labor on her own, will they continue to induce? Being induced is harder on your body than natural labor, so get plenty of rest beforehand—even though you’re going to be so excited that you can’t sleep! Just do it!

  5. June 17, 2005 2:00 pm

    Wow D. Thank you. Those words mean a ton to me. What a huge help. Thank you.

    And Molly, that is some sound advice. Steph and I have talked about various options and such, and we’ll make sure to ask those types of questions when we go in.

    You guys rule. God has blessed us with the best friends.

  6. Slothboy permalink
    June 17, 2005 2:14 pm

    I’m glad I could help. Nothing in your life will ever be the same, but in a good way. I remember the moment when I realized that I would no longer wish to change anything in my past because if I did then it might change where I am now, and I’m too much in love with my kids to jeopardize that.

    Just be ready to get spit up on. Man, Kacyn unleashed a vomit ball on me two days ago that still makes me break out in a cold sweat when I think about it. Babies are cute but they can also corner the market on Icky.

Leave a Reply

