Skip to content

So for a moment there I thought I was cool

June 20, 2005

So I come home from work and, after a little bit, hop on the ol’ internet.  Check the email, got an email from Fogey: ‘check out your blog… if someone is not messing around, that’s cool.’  Huh?

–Begin Hutch’s thought process–

*Scan the blog* new comments… one from JK ROWLING?!?!  What?  How cool is that!  I know she cruises fan sites from time to time, I guess she must have googled or something, and since I’ve been posting about Harry so much lately, maybe my page actually stuck out on Google… crazy cool!

Now to find out if it’s legit.  If it is, how cool is that!  *logs into Typepad, checks the comment*

Hppic1

Well, the website is legit.  The email address looks legit.  Don’t know how to track IP addresses really, so that doesn’t do me a lot of good… but imagine if it was a legit IP address.  Wow, this is so cool!

*emails Ben back all excited like*

*searches internet to see if her email address is legit… gets nothing*

I know, I’ll send her an email, see if it works.

*time passes, excitement grows.  Checks Gmail again*

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification
Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:
jo@jkrowling.com

hmmmmm… someone is playing with me.

Well… the comment was posted around 3:50.  She couldn’t have just known my url.  And there’s no search in any of the referring links to my site around that time.  Someone just punched in the address and left a note.  Wait a sec… yes I can check the IP address.

Aha!

(in the voice that Seinfeld says Newman’s name)
Slothboy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 21, 2005 1:58 pm

    The question is, can the world handle the news that JK Rowling is actually a balding 29 year-old man from Salem?

    Time will tell…

Leave a Reply

