Skip to content

Life Lessons V

July 2, 2005
  • The heart is absolutely one incredible organ, infinitely simple and complex all at the same time.
  • There is much in this world I can never hope to comprehend.
  • The worst situations can bring the best out of people.
  • Maternal and paternal ‘instincts’ are strong.
  • When it ‘wants to,’ the Body of Christ is really good about praying for one of its own.
  • Medical students have to go thru hell and back to get those two sacred letters after their name (a little thing called “30 hour shifts”).
  • As much as I love my little girl, I will not be able to protect her from everything in life.
  • As much as I love my little girl, I will not be able to fix everything in her life.
  • Your faith changes when you have children. Among other things, your prayers get shorter and more to the point.
  • Dreams can be terrifying things, even when you’ve woken up.
  • Somehow God sustains new parents despite a grandiose lack of sleep.
  • Waiting is hard. Real hard.
  • I am blessed with a wonderful wife, family and group of friends.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2005 10:28 pm

    Just when one believes that Allen pretty much knows just about everything, one realizes that he doesn’t just yet….and also discovers that he has grown up some more…..and to think I thought that you were more adult than me when you were all of 16!

  2. July 2, 2005 11:39 pm

    Laura,

    You probably thought I was more of an adult than you because I probably thought I was more of an than you. đŸ™‚

    This week has been absolutely crazy. Stretching. Sobering. Stimulating. And these few thoughts above are just the beginning of the things I will be taking from it. Thank you again for your love and friendship Laura. You, Bill and the kiddos mean a ton to me.

    Random thought: when pluralizing ‘kiddo,’ does one add the ‘e’ like when you pluralize potatoes?

Leave a Reply

