Skip to content

Book Meme

August 6, 2005

I’ve been tagged by Laura for this book meme.  Laura is an amazing gal whose family I will forever love.  See, back in the day, Bill and Laura needed a babysitter.  My sister had watched their kids a couple of times, and one time when my sis wasn’t available, they asked me.  Who knew it’d be a four year gig?  The seven of them hold a very special place in my heart.  And my respect for Laura went up by a googol when Elizabeth’s heart problems were discovered.  Laura’s a NICU nurse.  We like NICU nurses.

Moving on, for those who don’t know what a meme is, don’t feel bad.  I didn’t know before being tagged.  🙂  Here’s some help.

Number of books I own: O, good grief.  No idea; lots.  How about "Not enough"?  I am a bibliophile.  My wife keeps my addiction in check though.  That is a good thing.

Last book I read: Brother Andrew.  A much shorter version of God’s Smuggler.  Brother Andrew smuggled Bibles into East European countries during the Cold War.  He then went on to start a ministry which supplied Bibles in crazy numbers to folks around the world who didn’t have any.  The craziest part was the description of the night they sneaked 1 million (yes 1,000,000) Bibles into China.  Read the book as part of my History of Missions class for Gordon-Conwell.

Five books that mean a lot to me:

  1. The Bible.  God’s Word.  Holy communication from the Giver of all Life.  Completely shapes who and what I am and who and what I want to become.  Doesn’t get bigger than that.
  2. A History of Christianity, Volumes I and II.  I know it’s technically two books, but we’ll count it as one.  Reading this opened my eyes.  It put myself in context.  The American church rarely does Church History justice.  We can feel separated and disconnected from 2,000 years worth of amazing believers in the same Jesus.  This greatly helped in connecting me.  That, and church history should be studied by all Christians.  Folks been believing in Jesus for 2 millenia.  That’s a whole lot of teaching’ and encouraging that we could be missing out on.
  3. A Little Exercise for Young Theologians.  What a great little book!  Every student in a Bible college or seminary needs to read this book.  Rightly puts you in your place.  Written by a an old school German theology professor.  Basically says in some really simple, funny and poignant ways: "You’re studying theology, but don’t think you’re hot stuff, ’cause you’re not."  This is one that I need to re-read a least once a year.  In fact, I think I’m due for another read-through.
  4. Lord of the Flies.  Yes, I know, quite the transition from number 3.  Read this early in high school.  It was the first piece of literature that actually stuck with me, hit home and emblazened itself on my memory.  So much so that four years later when I was scrambling on my last essay question for the AP English test, I decided to write about this book, rather than the umpteen other books I had read that year.  I love a book where the author tells a great, enthralling story, but waits until the last page to make his point.  And he does it without blantantly saying, but he might as well have smacked you on the side of the head with an oar.
  5. The Lord of the Rings triology (with The Hobbit) and the Harry Potter series.  For pleasure reading, I’m usually not much of a fiction man.  I like history books and biographies.  But after seeing ‘Fellowship’ on the big screen, I knew I had to dig in.  I was missing something.  So I read The Hobbit on our honeymoon.  And then the triology while I was out of work for the first few months of our marriage.  I would stay up into the wee hours of the night, flashlight in hand (so as to not wake up Steph) following Aragorn and Frodo and Gandalf.  The ability of an author to create a whole new captivating world astounds me.  Which is why Rowling hooked me in so well, I would imagine.  I’ve never read books so fast as when I’m reading HP.  Never.  Can’t wait to get into number 6.  I’m torn though… I have a month left of my aforementioned class.  A wonderful friend has offered his copy, or I’ve got a hold on it from the library (see upper left of the blog).  But I’ve really got to focus and do all this homework.  But I could find out who the Half Blood Prince is.  O, life’s dilemmas.

Now we’ve come to the part of our program where I get to pick a few folks to whom I can pass this meme.  Post your answers on your blog and then leave a comment here saying you’re done.

  • Tr – culinary master and well read fella that you are, I’m really curious what you’ve got your nose into these days.
  • Jeana – been reading anything since July 16?
  • Deryk – I don’t know much about your reading habits.  But I bet they’re cool.
  • Jen – I know you love books.  Tell us about it.
  • Adam – You’ve got lots of downtime working the night shift and riding the bus.  Whatcha been reading?
13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2005 10:25 am

    Good list there, Hutch. Might have to search some of those books out myself. There’s a couple of them I haven’t read, or actually 3 out of your 5 that I haven’t read. Although…..

    I’m deeply offended that you didn’t tag me. But these are not tears of rage flowing down my cheeks; no, these are tears of deep, lasting pain. Tears of hurt, Hutch. Which you made me cry.

    WON’T SOMEONE TALK TO ME ABOUT MY BOOKS?

    sobbing

    Eli

  2. August 7, 2005 12:02 pm

    Ha! Done! And I’m first! Woo-hoo! Oh, and I named the name of The Crazy Eli, so now there’s now excuse to sob.

  3. August 7, 2005 12:03 pm

    Oh, and I don’t ride a bus anymore, thank the heavens.

  4. August 7, 2005 3:46 pm

    Eli, I’m sorry your hurt.

    Hutch huggie

    I actually had considered tagging you, but then I didn’t know if your guide to Japan would find room for such a thing as a book meme.

    sigh

    Now I know for next time.

  5. August 7, 2005 3:51 pm

    And Adam, actually Tr did it first. He was just a goob and forgot to leave a comment here letting everyone know as such.

    Glad you’re not riding the bus. Driving the Explorer must feel real good compared to TriMet.

  6. August 7, 2005 5:41 pm

    Oh! I forgot about the tag-back part! Sorry!

    Yeah, so I finished that thing. Took me like an hour, and not just because I decided to actually count all my books…

  7. August 7, 2005 6:24 pm

    Yeah, this post took me a long time to put together too. Don’t know what it is about it, but it just takes a while. It must be we love books that much.

  8. August 7, 2005 9:18 pm

    I don’t know, man, I mean, Tre might have WRITTEN first, but I posted first, I mean, he like got to the finish line and didn’t break the tape, just stood there and let me pass…. I WIN I WIN!!!

  9. August 7, 2005 9:40 pm

    Point granted.

    “Game—Adam”

  10. August 8, 2005 6:35 am

    What, so there’s 9 comments here and nobody has yet pointed out that Hutch’s 5th entry is actually 9 pickin’ books and counting? Are there no rules here?? Is nothing sacred???

  11. August 8, 2005 7:57 am

    10, actually. I’ve only read 9 of them, but you’ll notice I did say the Harry Potter series.

  12. Slothboy permalink
    August 8, 2005 8:25 am

    Homework? Dammit. Alright, I’ll get something up later today.

    tries to remember typepad password

  13. Jen permalink
    August 9, 2005 10:30 am

    I’m done…

Leave a Reply

