Skip to content

August 25, 2005

Talk_logo_1

I saw this a couple of days ago, but finally took the time to read through it all.  Whoa. Man, get your family and friends on this and you’re never paying for phone calls again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Slothboy permalink
    August 25, 2005 2:23 pm

    Yeah, me and Fogey gave that a test drive yesterday. iChat is far superior in my opinion but when stranded in the vast destert of the PC universe then most any port in a storm will do. I didn’t get to try out the voice chat in google but I’m sure it works fine. I actually was able to voice chat with Fogey using ichat over Dialup a couple times (two years ago) so the technology is pretty solid. The things I didn’t care for with googletalk is the lack of avatars (come on! I must use a clever picture to represent myself!) and the lack of file transfer capabilities. That last one is weird because AIM, ichat, Trillian, and so on all handle drag and drop file transfers. I guess you could just send it in an email (to your friend’s gmail account I’m sure) but that requires opening more windows and I’m lazy.

    So I decided GT was a decent 1.0 but they need to add features before I abandon trillian, or (God forbid) ichat in favor of it.

    I just wish they would come out with iChat for windows. ARE YOU LISTENING STEVE?

Leave a Reply

