Skip to content

Moment of Silence

October 24, 2005

For Rosa Parks.  She died today at the age of 92.

Parksinside

Maya Angelou said of Parks:

Mrs. Parks is for me probably what the Statute of Liberty was for immigrants. She stood for the future, and the better future… She was as tender as a rose and she was as strong as steel.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Slothboy permalink
    October 26, 2005 10:59 am

    Weird, I know, but my first thought when I heard she had died was, “She was still alive?”

    Pretty powerful example of a single stone starting an avalanche.

  2. October 26, 2005 12:28 pm

    That is hilarious (I mean ironic…umm, well not that she died but that you thought the same thing I did). In fact that was my comment to Allen when he told me that she had passed away. Perhaps it is because for so long people have told the bus story in such a way as to make it seem like soooo long ago that it is “ancient history”. Regardless, what an amazing woman on so many levels.

  3. Slothboy permalink
    October 26, 2005 3:57 pm

    Yeah, that has to be it. The fact that it was in my history books at school usually lead me to assume that the individuals involved probably weren’t around anymore.

    It’s a good thing I never met her because it would have gone like this:

    “Rosa Parks eh?” I would begin, thinking the name was coincidental. “Start any social revolutions lately?”

    “No, just the one.”

    “Uh… Oh… Wow, I totally thought you were dead.”

  4. Slothboy permalink
    October 26, 2005 4:02 pm

    I think that has to be it. Also she was in the history books at school so that usually indicated that the individual no longer lived. I guess it’s a good thing I never met her. The conversation probably would have gone like this:

    “Rosa Parks eh?” I would begin, thinking that the name was coincidental. “Start any social revolutions lately?”

    “No, just the one.”

    “Oh.. Um, Wow. You’re THE Rosa Parks. I totally thought you were dead.”

  5. October 26, 2005 5:00 pm

    yeah, I’m right there with you both too—the big news to me was not that she had died but that she had been alive just last weekend.

Leave a Reply

