Skip to content

Does Zelda make you emote?

November 7, 2005

Interesting article about video games and emotions.  I remember playing Final Fantasy VII and hitting that scene.  It was powerful.  Any other moments that caused ye to emote?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Slothboy permalink
    November 7, 2005 1:45 pm

    Wow, two posts in a row designed to get the attention of Fogey. Good luck with that.

    For me, I’ve never cried during a video game, but Fatal Frame for the xbox scared me so bad I couldn’t finish it. I’m 29 for crying out loud! I’m not talking, jump-out-and-scare-you startlement, I’m talking lingering, scared-to-go-in-my-attic-for-the-rest-of-my-life terror.

  2. November 7, 2005 2:09 pm

    Yeah, I don’t know how I struck Fogey gold today, but such is the whimsical nature of the internet. What is so scary about Fatal Frame (he asks in ignorance)?

  3. November 8, 2005 7:38 am

    The Sending scene in Final Fantasy X almost made me cry. About a year after watching it, listening to the song for that scene also almost made me cry. I was a little pissed off that some stupid video game could bring up such strong emotions in me when it seemed —still, actually—nothing else could.

    You know, it’s still a bit of a painful memory. Never mind.

    EJ

  4. Slothboy permalink
    November 8, 2005 9:58 am

    Fatal Frame is a scary ghost game. You fight ghosts with an old camera that has the power to dispel them. There is terrifying imagery and sound.

    The website doesn’t quite do it justice, but you can find it at http://www.fatalframe.com

Leave a Reply

