Skip to content

The Horse and His Boy

December 3, 2005

I proctored the SATs this morning.  Easiest money I’ve ever made.  (My mother-in-law runs the giving of the SATs for all of Evergreen school district, and she had one of her regulars back out for today.  So yours truly got to go in their stead).  I’m on a quest to finish all seven of the Chronicles of Narnia.  I read the first one a long time ago (while a child maybe?), but 12 or 18 months back I read books 1 – 4 in a sorta short amount of time.  Then a reading intensive class happened and I put my quest on hold.  Since I had so much time for reading this morning watching the juniors and seniors take a five hour test, I decided to jump back into the land and time of Narnia.

Up to today, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader had been my favorite.  The imagery of the dragon and that whole part of the story is very powerful.  And then my mental pictures of the part where they go through the sea of darkness (or whatever its name is) stick out in my mind.  Just an adventurous story all the way around.  Encouraging reads, these chronicles.

Anyway, I went into this morning’s read just wanting to barrel through it since I had heard such good things about the next book in the series, The Magician’s Nephew.  I was blown away by the tale of this talking Horse and his boy.  I’m still not done, but where I was able to finish left me on the verge of tears.  There I was, sitting in front of a bunch of high schoolers, getting goose bumps on my arms and holding the tears back.  The imagery of Aslan, his character, his faithfulness, his following each person’s own story.  Lewis has written wonderful ways to describe in part the awesomeness and tenderness of our Savior.  I haven’t even finished it yet, but The Horse and His Boy is now my fav chronicle.


To bring you up to speed in the story:  upon what appears to be a high mountatin road, Shasta, the main character, is traveling on a horse he’s not used to in the midst of growing darkness and fog.  He can see nothing, but senses that someone or something is walking beside him.

(I will post the amazing section of the book when I get a smidge more time to type it out.  Tried to find the text online, but to no avail.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Tam permalink
    December 5, 2005 9:32 am

    Ahhh! That one is one of my favorites also. I love The Magician’s Nephew. Such an awesome story.

    My dad used to read that series to us every vacation as we sat around the campfire. Such memories! Can’t wait to see the first movie…

  2. December 5, 2005 12:28 pm

    I love that part, too. It’s such a beautiful picture of Yahweh being all that he his to us. Myself, myself, MYSELF!!!

  3. December 5, 2005 12:29 pm

    I could talk Narnia non stop and not get tired of it. Geary and I have a date to go see the movie this Saturday. =D

  4. December 5, 2005 2:18 pm

    You know, JT once LIVED at A Horse and His Boy.

  5. December 6, 2005 10:02 pm

    HHB really is excellent. I love what a different feel it has from the other Narnia books, it is such a change of pace.

  6. December 7, 2005 9:16 am

    Lubeck used to use HHB as an example of the Kethubim. The stories could really fit anywhere and you still get an amazing feel for who Aslan/YHWH really is.

  7. Slothboy permalink
    December 8, 2005 2:07 pm

    Personally I always loved The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, but most of the books were really good. I don’t remember caring for the Last Battle all that much but I could read voyage over and over.

    I just was looking on amazon and I see that the last battle is available on Audio Book, read by Patrick Stewart. Fogey’s head would explode.

Leave a Reply

