Skip to content

December 20, 2005

I’ve been wondering if anybody went to the U2 concert last night.  My friend Greg has answered my question for me, without even knowing I was asking it.  Read below his account of the night.

My friends,

Truly amazing. U2. I’ve never been to a big name concert. It was more intense than a Blazers game 7 playoff game. 16,000 people all singing along.  The lights, sounds, it was out of control. I was very impressed.

So, back when general sale for tickets happened I was stuck at a payphone at the beach. Needless to say, I didn’t get tickets. My Mom got tickets for us and gave them to me for my birthday, which is today.

The lights were amazing. Try to find the music video for City of Blinding lights. You’ll get a feel for the light curtain they had.  (editor’s note: Greg sent me this link later)

They opened with City of Blinding lights, Vertigo, Elevation. It was intense. One of my favorite parts of the show was when Bono dedicated "Sometimes you can’t make it on your own" to his father who died last year. The song is about their relationship. Bono said, "For the last ten years of my fathers life every conversation we had began with ‘Why don’t you ever take of those f@#%ing glasses." He proceeded to take them off and sing. It was great, emotional. I’m in love with The Edge.  He’s even better in person.

They had two encores. This was the last show of the North America tour. They had a lot of thank you’s and interaction with the crew. They threw in a tribute to John Lennon at the end which was impromptu Insta Karma. It was great. The stage was in a circle with a wide circle in which a bunch of fans were enclosed.

The lights were just amazing.

Kanye West opened, and he had a 6 strings & a harp playing with him. It was impressive Hip-hop.

The show ended with the band coming back out for the 2nd time and they played YWHW, and ended with 40. Bono got the crown singing along "How long, to sing this song..How long…" And he walked off. Then The Edge played along for a while and then walked off. Then Adam Clayton (bass) played and then walked off. The crowd still singing along just Larry on the drums. He stops the crowd keeps singing. Then he does a huge fill/riff with everyone still singing. Then he walks off. Crowd still singing, then slowly it just turns into full loud cheering and the lights came on. So ends 2005 tour.

The link is from U2’s website and the official take on last nights show: http://www.u2.com/news/.

G

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 27, 2005 3:42 am

    Wow, wish I could have gone. Never been to a big show myself, but have been crew for plenty of medium shows. Reading this gave me chills. I too, love U2.

Leave a Reply

