Skip to content

Letter from Birmingham Jail

January 7, 2006

I’m a big fan of Multnomah Country Library.  A while back I picked up The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr. in audio form.  Just started listening to it a few weeks and have been listening to it on my way home from work.  Just this week I got to the section where King himself is reading his "Letter from Birmingham Jail."  I knew it was a powerful document, as I’ve read bits of it in the past, but never have I experienced it in its entirety.  Especially to hear King read it himself.  That guy knew not only how to write well, but speak well too.  Incredible.  Incredible.

And for all you fellow Speech Commies out there, here’s an even more interesting version: Letter from Birmingham Jail – a rhetorical analysis.  The color coding really makes the arguments stand out; cool take on it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

