Skip to content

So I work on international accounts

January 12, 2006

Which means I see some bad English.  But that’s okay because the mere fact that folks can remotely speak a second (or more) language well enough to conduct business is impressive to me.  But I didn’t expect Microsoft Office’s translate function would turn out something as silly as the following from Dutch:

These are still of last week. I have looked at, but bowl not entirely.

If you can figure that out, let me know.  🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2006 9:30 pm

    “These are last week’s. I’ve just skimmed them, though.”

    That would be my guess. However, if I can’t see the Dutch, I’d have no idea. I really can’t speak Dutch, but then I could try alternate spellings, spacings, etc.

    Don’t be too pleased of this technological terror that’s been constructed of using a second language in business. Idiomatic usage will shut a business meeting down fast. In fact, I’d wager that a businessperson with a EFL education would be trying to figure out why you think they speak English from a long distance.

    Anyway, yeah. Last week’s, haven’t read them all yet. I think.

    EJ

  2. January 13, 2006 7:38 am

    Given the context it came in, I’d venture to guess you’re right Eli. The “bowl” part is what cracked me up. 🙂

  3. Eli permalink
    January 13, 2006 9:54 am

    Yeah, I get a lot of strange English almost daily, so I’m kind of burnt out. Someone’s always “Going to shopping” or somesuch. Bowl is a new one on me, though. Maybe it’s some crazy Dutch interjection. “Bowl! I can’t find my clogs today!”

    If it’s any interest, I’ll be back in Portland for a bit from the 18th of Jan. to Feb 3rd. Congrats, you’ve scooped everyone on this. Even my own blog.

    EJ

  4. January 24, 2006 4:49 pm

    Oh really? Prove it!

    503.577.5201

Leave a Reply

