Skip to content

Giving Derek Webb fodder

February 22, 2006

Let’s see. Spend a week on an Alaskan cruise. Listen to Chuck Swindoll “address real issues as we explore life in Alaska” and then go hit the bar (if they even have one). What the?!?

Does anybody else have a problem with this? Look at this company’s client list. It’s a virtual who’s who of American evangelical stereotypes (or worse). This just seems so completely backwards. For those who are rich enough (the cheapest rate is $1,278 for one person… the most expensive $3,298. Here’s the brochure.), you can enjoy a week long spiritual yeah while you take in the Alaskan shorline or Mexican beaches or… what the?!? I don’t even know how to express fully how antithetical to the Kingdom this is. I’m all for vacations and rest. I’m all for studying under someone. But this? This is crap.

Perhaps the most confusing thing: Sara Groves is going to be there. Sara is fantastic. Sara is humble. Sara is all about being open and sharing her life and God thru her music. I trust Sara. I’ll give Sara the benefit of the doubt every time. So, Sara, I ask you, what the heck are you doing?

Cause it sure looks like you’re just giving Derek Webb more fodder. What do I mean? Look at the lyrics for Ballad in Plain Red.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    February 22, 2006 10:32 am

    You asked what Sara was doing, (or to be more accurate “what the heck are you doing?”), and I think it is quite clear:
    She is going on a free Alaskan Cruise with her family and only has to sing a few times to pay for it. Sweet deal for her, and to be honest if I had the pipes and was offered that kind of deal, I would totally jump on it. Besides that, you can also rationalize that she is a great person to have singing on a cruise with a captive audience of many upper class people who may not have taken the time to listen to her lyrics before. What a witness to those that may not be walking the walk to have Sara singing and no where for them to go to run from the truth that will hit them upside the head. I could go on, but I think you get the picture and point of my ramblings.

  2. February 22, 2006 11:30 am

    Touché, Beautiful-wife-o-mine

  3. John Thomson permalink
    May 28, 2008 5:09 pm

    I’ll give this blogger his/her props regarding the lyrics of Derek Webb’s song. I didn ‘t understand what in the world he was saying. I do understand Sara. I think she is one of the premier lyricists in Christian music right now. I also think she deserves a break from a very heavy schedule. And I don’t think the writer was saying she didn’t. Alaska is a long ways from the Ozarks where Sara grew up. (she did not grow up in Minnesota). Remember too, Sara has 3 children, one under a year; though Ruby might be a year old by the time the trip comes around. If you have gone anywhere with young children on vacation you know you’ll rest after you get back home.

  4. May 29, 2008 7:41 pm

    Can I go ahead and be dumbfounded for you regarding that last response to the blog post you wrote a little but over 2 years ago????

  5. May 29, 2008 9:13 pm

    Ryan, yes. I just hadn’t gotten there yet.

    John, thanks for stopping by. Not sure how you got to a 2 yr old post, but glad you came anyway.

Leave a Reply

