Skip to content

NES memory lane

June 19, 2006

“Gamespot.com”:http://www.gamespot.com/ just threw together their audience’s votes for their favorite NES title.

For me, I would have put #4 as #1, but overall, that’s one solid list. Course, I want to know where Tecmo Bowl is…

What do you think? I know Fogey would have put #2 on top…

“NES Readers’ Choice TenSpot”:http://www.gamespot.com/features/6152797/index.html

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2006 9:57 pm

    Agreed on Tecmo Bowl. First game you could realistically crowd more than 2 players around a console. Take off duck hunt (It’s only there because everyone had it and no one was going to actually spend $50 on a zapper game).

    Oh and Hutch, SMB3 > Zelda1, but SMW < Zelda3

    πŸ™‚

  2. June 20, 2006 9:06 am

    My favorite is Super Mario 3. I still have an SNES with Mario All Stars. But I didn’t notice Tetris on the list…

  3. June 20, 2006 10:58 pm

    How can Contra not have been top three??? Now that’s a travesty of justice if I’ve ever seen one.

    Of course, there’s also the fact that Snake Rattle ‘n’ Roll didn’t make the list…

  4. June 21, 2006 7:15 am

    Fogey, duly noted. Makes sense to me.
    Jeana, well done. Glad to have some female input on this. Perhaps because Tetris came in so many forms and across so many platforms…
    Jed, I hear ya. Contra was a fun one.

    Now that I think about it, I wouldn’t call them my favorite perhaps, but definitely note worthy for me was Super Mario 2 and Zelda 2. I loved both of them because they were so different from the originals.

    Speaking of originals, what was your first NES game besides Mario/Duck Hunt. For my sister and me, it was Skate or Die. πŸ™‚

  5. Slothboy permalink
    June 21, 2006 12:37 pm

    Trouble with something like that list is that there were so darn many games for the NES that it would be hard to get multiple votes for a lot of really good titles.

    I didn’t even ever play a lot of those top ten games. Some of my fav’s were:

    The Legend Of Zelda. Duh. Awesome game. Not number one but top five for sure.

    Super Mario 3. Arguably the best looking game for the NES. Huge. Awesome. Fun. I agree that should be #1.

    Metal Gear! Come on! where is that on the list? That game kicked butt.

    Tetris. I would close my eyes at night and see the falling pieces.

    Anybody else play Iron Tank? The turret moved independently from the rest of the tank. I can’t even remember how that worked with only two buttons. GENIUS.

    A Boy and His Blob. Very cool. Also Life Force, Metroid, RC Pro Am, and Mega Man 2. Is that 10? sure.

    First game I got besides the Super Mario/Duck Hunt combo cartridge was Spy Hunter. Shoulda been “Disappointing Hunter.” Gay. No end, ever. Got to the boat, didn’t make it better.

  6. June 21, 2006 3:30 pm

    Yes, RC Pro Am! That game ruled! And come on, about Spy Hunter. I loved that one. Course, I never got as far as you, so maybe that’s why I still liked it…

Leave a Reply

