Skip to content

JK and her teases

June 27, 2006

” Rowling hints Harry Potter might die”:http://www.cnn.com/2006/SHOWBIZ/books/06/26/potter.deaths.ap/index.html

Alrighty folks. Put on them thinking caps and get out your crystal balls. If memory serves correctly, Jeana correctly identified who the Half Blood Prince was (but for wrong reasons) before the book came out. Perhaps she can maintain her title and predict who’s gonna die in book 7. Conspiracy theories abound, folks. Let’s “continue”:http://www.stephscandlehutch.com/hutch/article/did-yall-know-about-this-site the “discussion”:http://www.stephscandlehutch.com/hutch/article/reflections-on-the-half-blood-prince.

I throw out my guesses a little later this morning after I’ve had some time to ponder.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2006 8:47 am

    Alrighty, it’s still early, but here’s my two cents.

    I’m thinking young Mr. Malfoy continues his chickenness and Volde’ doesn’t take it anymore. So Malfoy’s gone.

    And drumroll please I’m thinking Neville dies. Longbottom goes martyr, saves someone in the process and then that is how Voldemort is defeated, by true sacrificial love again. Plus, it ties in nicely with Neville possibly being the one the prophecy talked about.

    So there you go.

  2. June 27, 2006 10:42 am

    Would JKR really write 7 books about Harry only to have Neville be the true hero? Not sure. Plus, Neville was an option for the prophecy, but Voldemort chose Harry and Harry is marked.

    I’m convinced that Snape is good.

    I think somehow we WILL be back at Hogwarts. Harry said he wasn’t coming back in the heat of emotion. But the books are numbered by years—I think SOMETHING will get him back to Hogwarts.

    As far as who dies…I agree about Malfoy. But I think he will “turn good” before then. Possibly Snape, and I think he might die for Harry.

    Paperback Half-Blood Prince comes to the US at the end of July!

  3. Slothboy permalink
    June 27, 2006 11:13 am

    Well, the books aren’t fresh in my mind at the moment so I may not stand by my theories later.

    I still think Neville will save the day. While he may not actually kill V, he will be extremely instrumental in making it possible for harry to kill V.

    There has always been the danger that Harry would not live to the end of the series. If we knew for sure he would live then we would not have “dramatic tension”. Certainly it could be either way and it lies completely with JK to make that call.

    I think the butcher’s bill will include, but not be limited to:

    Voldemort (duh)
    Wormtail
    The Minister of Magic (can’t remember who that is at the moment)
    Tonks
    Lupin
    I think we’re gonna lose some of the Dumbledore’s Army kids. Whether that will be any of the Fab Four I don’t know.

    Oh, and Sirrius will return! /waves hands in spooky fashion/

  4. Tre permalink
    June 27, 2006 11:14 am

    Ron. It makes me sad to say, but I think this one’s been coming for a while. Since the life-size chess game back in year 1, he’s nearly the poster child for sacrifice. A little quiet and reserved, humble/low self esteem, holds others in high regard. If it were Star Trek, he’d have been wearing a red uniform the whole time. It pains me to say it, for Hermoine’s sake as much as anyone, but I’m pretty sure he’s gonna get it.

    In fact, just thinking aloud here (as ‘loud’ as typing is), but what if it’s for or because of Malfoy that Ron dies? I wonder if that wouldn’t help turn the kid around, watching someone as ‘low’ as a Weasley sacrifice himself…

  5. June 27, 2006 11:33 am

    Jeana,

    I’m not saying Neville is going to be the hero. I’m just saying with as involved in the plot as he has become, I could easily see him being a martyr that would allow Harry to kill the big V.

    Interesting call on Snape dying for Harry. Tré, you as well (Ron for Malfoy). Funny how we keep thinking that the deaths are going to be for some noble reason. What if Rowling just axes a character in Voldemort’s fury?

    Slothy, why Tonks and Lupin?

    And Tré, interesting call on Malfoy turning good. Do you think that because he couldn’t kill Dumbledore?

  6. slothboy permalink
    June 27, 2006 3:08 pm

    Exactly for the reason you pointed out. Voldemort’s fury. I think several people are going to bite it in the fighting. Tonks because she was developed JUST enough for us to care about her so it would be sad. Lupin because he is a pretty prominent character who will also likely be involved in the end game violence. You also have to figure that there will be some reason that Harry and the kids end up facing Voldemort without the adults. For that to happen they have to either intentionally evade the Order of the Phoenix or else most of the order will have to be either incapacitated or killed. Plus you have to remember that every time the werewolf is killed he is actually relieved. Lupin will die with a smile on his face because his suffering will be over.

    I’m not sure I agree that Ron will die. The reasoning makes sense on paper but I tend to think that Harry will kick it and ron and hermione will name their firstborn son Harry. Neville, of course, will be the Godfather slash secret keeper.

  7. June 27, 2006 6:45 pm

    Point taken. And I have to agree that Neville will play some heroic role. He has already become braver, stronger, and more “Harry-like”. What about this? Neville is often compared to Peter Pettigrew, in his role as friend on the fringe and in looks…do you think he would ever turn traitor? I don’t think so but it’s something to consider. I think Malfoy turning good isn’t because he COULDN’T kill Dumbledore, but because he really didn’t want to. I think all his pure-blood talk comes from wanting to impress/have a relationship with his father. He’s all talk. I think having his dad in Azkaban and seeing what Voldemort and the Dark Arts are really like, will bring him to loyalty to Dumbledore’s Army. He is Snape’s doppleganger.

  8. June 28, 2006 6:30 am

    Okay, first off, 2 points for use of the word doppleganger.

    Second of all, no way is Neville going Peter Pettigrew on us. I like Slothy’s idea much better. That has a sense warm fuzzies; your idea has Benedict Arnold written all over it. No warm fuzzies.

    Course, Malfoy turning good would be cool.

  9. Slothboy permalink
    June 28, 2006 10:52 am

    Yeah, Neville will remain true. The difference between him and pettigrew is that the Harry crew treat Neville with respect. Maybe not as much as they should but it seemed like Lupin and Company really looked down on peter and saw him as more of a groupie. Also I don’t think Neville could ever turn dark because he knows what happened to his parents and he has a very personal grudge against the death eaters.

    I’d also love to see Malfoy turn sides. It smacks of Snape and also I seem to recall something at the end of the last book that gave me the impression he was already moving that way. Can’t remember specifically though.

  10. June 29, 2006 11:55 am

    D, I had the same impression about Malfoy at the end of HBP. But since I borrowed my copy from the library I can’t look it up. Maybe Jeana (you own the books right?) could help us out?

  11. June 29, 2006 3:51 pm

    I would love to, but I only buy the paperbacks and paperback HPB isn’t out yet. I’m sure I’ll read it again when the paperback comes out and I’ll look for a hint to Malfoy’s goodness. =)

  12. Slothboy permalink
    June 29, 2006 6:07 pm

    I’ve got the hardcover at home. I’ll check it out tonight.

  13. Tre permalink
    June 29, 2006 6:22 pm

    I’ve got the hardcover, but I already packed it to be sure I took it when I move! Sorry!

Leave a Reply

