Skip to content

Movies to see

July 10, 2006

So Steph and I haven’t seen new movies in a long time. Long time like I still haven’t seen Batman Begins or Fantastic 4 or anything since then really.

I’m compiling a list of movies I want to see or Steph and I should see — in no particular order.

Please add your suggestions.


Batman Begins
-Fantastic Four- (due to popular consesus)
Over the Hedge
Cars
Pirates 2
16 Blocks
End of the Spear
* Superman
* The Greatest Game Ever Played
* Zathura
* Hoodwinked
* Nacho Libre

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2006 10:32 am

    Swap F4 with Superman. And see it at cinetopiatheatres.com if you can – shot and projected digitally is quite a sight to behold.

  2. Slothboy permalink
    July 10, 2006 11:49 am

    Just take Pirates 2 off the list. That is nothing anybody needs to see.

    You should watch “The Greatest Game Ever Played.” I enjoyed that. Also “Zathura” was suprisingly fun. “Mr. and Mrs. Smith” was great if you hanker action. “Sky High” was way cool also, in that mindless sort of way. I expected to hate “Cinderella Man,” but it was real tasty also.

  3. July 10, 2006 11:59 am

    Fogey, convince me on Superman. My desire to see it is currently at 0.

    Slothy, didn’t like Pirates 2? I loved the first one…

    Duly noted on the others. But wasn’t Zathura just a space version of Jumanji?

  4. Slothboy permalink
    July 10, 2006 3:26 pm

    Yes, it was a space version of Jumanji, in that there was a board game that makes things happen, but the rest of the story was entertaining, suprising, and pretty damn original. I liked Jumanji quite a bit, but it didn’t hold a candle to Zathura. The effects were way better in Zathura and there was no Robin Williams. Plus the “temporal sphincter” made it all worth while.

    Didn’t see pirates 2 yet. Don’t intend to until I can netflix it. It has the feel of a hacked together sequel. I really liked the first one but the second one smacks of the “Oh yeah, we signed Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom and Kate Winslet to a THREE picture deal. I guess we better just get them on the set. We’ll write the next two as we go” concept of film production.

    Superman is not my cup of tea either. I was always a Batman fan and the inconsistencies in the Superman universe always pissed me off. (How come sometimes he can push the moon back into orbit, but other times he has to strain to lift a truck?) but I liked Superman Returns quite a bit. And yes, the digital HD version at cinetopia made me pee my pants. I have some complaints about the movie, but overall it was very worthwhile.

  5. July 11, 2006 8:58 am

    Kiera Knightly, not Kate Winslet.
    2. The moon has less gravity therefore the truck is harder to move.

    3. Geary and I recommend:
    (Even though it sounds “chick flickish”) The Family Stone
    Hoodwinked
    Fun With Dick and Jane
    Nacho Libre

  6. Slothboy permalink
    July 11, 2006 12:51 pm

    Right, Kiera. My bad.

    The moon may have less gravity but its mass is about 10 to the 21st power greater and you are still essentially pushing it away from the gravity of Earth.

    😛

  7. July 11, 2006 5:54 pm

    Fine. You win. Superman is inconsistent. But he’s still super.

  8. Tre permalink
    July 13, 2006 11:30 am

    Slothboy (the teen version of SlothMan) and Jeana: Superman has always required suspension of more disbelief than Batman. That dates all the way back to thier inceptions in Action Comics vs. Detective Comics. Don’t think they should be held right next to each other as often as they are… But I loved both movies!

    Hutch: Get F4 off that list. I was sorely dissappointed, and I’m the king of suspending disbelief. Zathura the book was the sequal to Jumanji, though it took 19 years to write. So, it’s similar but new. And, on the chick flick front, I’d also recommend ‘Failure to Launch.’ I’d also recommend seeing it at the Academy Theatre off Stark & 80th. Pizza and beer in a McMenamin’s-less movie theatre? Yes, please.

Leave a Reply

