Skip to content

Indulgence

October 6, 2006

Don’t know about you, but when a discussion comes up of one’s favorite movies, there are the obvious answers that most folks will heartily agree with, saying “Oh yeah, mmmhmmm, definitely.” Those make ya feel good.

But then there are the movies, that you’re not proud of, but there’s this part of you deep down that enjoys them. It either brings up fond memories from childhood or strikes your nerves just so that it’s the best movie _evar_, and if it comes up on cable sometime randomly, and no one is looking, you’ll make time to watch them. 🙂

What are those movies for you?

For me, growing up, it was all about “The Rescue”:http://imdb.com/title/tt0095981/ and “Krull”:http://imdb.com/title/tt0085811/. And still today, though I know they’re bad movies, I would enjoy them.

There, I’ve said it. Don’t leave me hangin’.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Slothboy permalink
    October 6, 2006 3:47 pm

    Armageddon, The Saint, Iron Eagle, Labyrinth, Real Genius, The Explorers, Flight of the Navigator, Space Camp (Jinx put max in space, jinx can get max back), Return To Oz, Weekend At Bernie’s, Down Periscope, Harry and the Hendersons, Mac and Me, Batteries Not Included, anything starring Jim Varney… Should I keep going?

  2. Slothboy permalink
    October 6, 2006 3:51 pm

    Damn. Sorry for the double post but I forgot to mention Enemy Mine. That one would be high on the list. “Zammis four… five?”

  3. Tre permalink
    October 7, 2006 11:45 am

    Buckaroo Bonzai, Krull, and Flight of the Navigator will always draw me away from anything else. Also, the ‘trilogy’ of Weird Science, Real Genius, and My Science Project.

  4. October 8, 2006 2:28 pm

    Yeah, I gotta throw my hat into the FotN ring too. Definitely the stuff of boy dreams.

    But when it comes to majorindulgences, I’ve gotta take a step away from the big screen and give the nod to Knight Rider and CHiPs. Now those were the best shows evar.

  5. Crazy E permalink
    October 9, 2006 5:24 am

    Burt I. Gordon films. Anything from the Corman library. And once, I spent 12 hours watching Ed Wood movies. The cheaper the movie from the 50s, the better I like it.
    Oh, and Suburban Commando. Best movie starring both Hulk Hogan and the Undertaker.
    E

  6. October 26, 2006 7:16 am

    Nobody has mentioned “The Princess Bride”? Then I would put Short Circut, and Flight of the Navigator.

    We didn’t watch movies much, though.

  7. October 28, 2006 9:07 am

    Nobody has mentioned The Princess Bride because there’s nothing to be ashamed of there. It’s a classic through and through.

  8. October 30, 2006 9:14 am

    I must have strange friends…

Leave a Reply

