Skip to content

Humbled

October 11, 2006

Just finished listening to the 1 Corinthians 7 sermon entitled, “Bad Sex, Good Sex” by Mark Driscoll up at MarsHill. Whew. Funny as all get out (laughed LOUD at work) and incredibly humbling. Hopefully will be able to make changes in my marriage that will line up with some of the things mentioned. Great listen for all, but especially the married folk. As an old Dr. Arthurs quip (paraphrase) goes: “Getting ’em laughing so it’s easier for the truth to get in and go down.”

“Bad Sex, Good Sex mp3”:http://www.marshillchurch.org/audio/060423_1Cor_16_16k.mp3

“Sermon Notes”:http://www.marshillchurch.org/audio/1Cor_Notes_April23_2006.pdf

(Already talked with Steph about the following, so please don’t think she hasn’t already heard this)

The thing that hit me the most was the clear concept that my body is not my own. It is Steph’s too. And I have not been treating it nor her like that. Not taking care of myself, not shaving regularly (just for work when I have to), not giving her the affection, cuddling, etc that she needs and wants. This body is hers just as much as it is mine. Just showing up doesn’t cut it, gotta actually care about what I bring to the table.

Give it a listen (well worth it), read over the notes, let me know your thoughts.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeana permalink
    October 12, 2006 7:50 pm

    Good stuff. One of the hardest things for me to deal with in marriage is nothing being my own anymore. It’s not my time, not my stuff, not my space. And like you, it’s difficult to live like it’s not my body. Also, the whole part about there not being a line. That marriage IS the line—before marriage, nothing. After marriage, everything. That’s kind of a big deal. Maybe Joshua Harris was onto something after all.

    My only criticism is the whole “dudes and chicks” thing. It’s offensive to be called a toilet, for sure. But it’s also kind of offensive to be called a chick. However,I myself say stuff like chick-flick and chick-lit so maybe I’m being overly hard on him. I guess the dudes and chicks thing felt “un-sacred” in talking about a sacred thing. Does that make sense?

    Thanks for sharing the link and the notes.

  2. October 13, 2006 4:11 am

    That was the best sermon I have heard in a long time. (Of course, I don’t hear sermons in English on a regular basis, which has something to do with that.)

    I too, was a little bothered by the dudes and chicks thing, but it was mostly just, “Why did he say it that way?”

    I think I am going to have another listen, it was that good.

  3. slothboy permalink
    October 13, 2006 4:02 pm

    I just downloaded the thing so I haven’t heard it yet. But if he is using dudes and chick it is to try to sound hip. I had a “getting ready for marriage” small group/no credit class thingy my senior year at GFU. The School nurse was one of the instructors and she was about 57 and she insited on saying “screw” instead of “having sex”. I guess she wanted to be cool but it was really unsettling. I’m no prude but it was odd. I have never heard that term used except in a derrogatory fashion.

    “My husband kissed me on the back of the neck so I knew he wanted to screw.”

    That’s the sort of thing she’d say. shudder

  4. October 13, 2006 9:16 pm

    Regarding Driscoll and his ‘dudes and chicks’, I’ve never met the man, but have been listening to him for a long time now and heard his story throughout. He grew up in a rough neighborhood and, reading his writings and hearing his speaking, he’s just a guy who’s rough around the edges. I won’t deny that. I am sorry Jeana that you found him offensive. I do hope you enjoyed him though and were able to be enriched by the content on the whole. And D, I don’t think he is trying to be cool. It’s just who he is. He started MarsHill when he was 25, and is 35 now. He is in his element when preaching and preaching to people he is incredible comfortable with, and that comes out in his preaching.

    Karl, great to hear from you! Glad to see you still drop by the blog. If you are in need of some good English preaching, he is definitely a good place to start. I first got exposed to Driscoll when he was preaching thru 1 Timothy. Then I moved to Genesis, and am now on his 1 Corinthians sermons (which he is getting close to finishing), so I’m almost caught up to present day.

    Derek, that little story of yours. Ew.

    Jeana, I hear you. Amazing how vulnerability is extremely difficult even with the person you’ve chosen for life.

    But saying Harris was on to something? I will not allow such heresy on my blog… ((grin))

  5. October 15, 2006 10:00 am

    Yeah Hutch, I still read. I did have to quit for a while, because I had very limited internet.

    You have a place in my RSS reader. 😀

  6. Jeana permalink
    October 15, 2006 8:54 pm

    Thanks, Hutch. I really did like and appreciate Driscoll’s sermon. I wasn’t offended by him as much as I felt that he could have/should have chosen better terms for men and women. But overall, I have not stopped thinking about the sermon and sharing tidbits with Geary since I heard it.

    Speaking of Geary, he made an interesting observation about the Greek for “mutual consent” in verse 5. It’s the same word that we get “symphony” from implying that husbands and wives are to live in harmony and make music together. This reminded me of a book I read a few years ago called “Sheet Music” by Kevin Leman. If you have time, I recommend checking it out. I so wish we had read this book instead of “Intended for Pleasure” right before our marriage.

    Also, please forgive my Joshua Harris heresy (Harrisy? I know, I know—2 points taken for such a bad pun). I must have been experiencing temporary insanity. =D

  7. October 15, 2006 11:29 pm

    Jeana, good deal. And cool stuff about the Greek in that verse. Two points for Geary.

    I have seen the Leman book before but never had the chance to check it out. I think I will. We read ‘Intended for Pleasure’ right before getting married as well, so you saying you wish you had read it instead of piques my interest.

    And yes, two points taken for the Harrisy pun. That leaves the Linhart crew even. =D

  8. October 17, 2006 7:12 am

    I listened to that sermon a few weeks ago, then proceeded to listen to all of the rest of the content on the Mars Hill website. Most every ounce of it is pretty darn good stuff.

  9. October 17, 2006 11:25 am

    Josh, nice to have ya swing by. Mars Hill has a “good head on its shoulders.” If I lived in Seattle, I’d probably be there.

    Oh, and that’s a whole lot of listening… 🙂

Leave a Reply

