Skip to content

Recovery

October 25, 2006

When you screw up, and you know you did and you want to move on, but you feel frozen in it, what do you do? What do you pray, what passage do you read? What words do you use in your apology?

I’m curious how y’all do it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2006 7:08 am

    It sort of depends on the context. In general though, I have found that humility wins. Not the type that says, “I am humbler than you are,” either.

    Simple words, direct and to the point work best for me. “I am sorry, I was wrong. Will you forgive me?” (I usually proceed to beat myself up emotionally for a few hours following, if you really want to know.)

    If I screw up, and I knew I was wrong to do it when I did it, it is even more important to do this.

    If I did not know I was wrong when making the error I think it is important to communicate that, too.

    Sometimes all options suck, in those cases “suck it up” and be humble. Hmm… that is easier to say than it is to do.

    What a pride-crusher.

    Hope that is not to blunt…

  2. Steph permalink
    October 26, 2006 9:51 am

    I hear groveling… and kissing the victims feet can help. Oh and breakfast in bed… and chocolate is always helpful …and hugs are a must. Of course that is just what I hear (smiling like the Grinch on the day he formed his plan…hoping to smile like the Grinch the day of Christmas when his heart grew, was it 2 or 3 sizes?)

  3. Slothboy permalink
    October 31, 2006 11:57 am

    There’s a couple things I still regularly ask God to forgive me for, though they happened many years ago.

    With the wife/other humans, humility is definitely the way to go. Also, make sure your apology isn’t defensive. “I’m sorry that happened, but it wouldn’t have if you hadn’t done that other thing.”

    I guess when you apologize… mean it.

Leave a Reply

