Skip to content

Animated

December 29, 2006

“Love Letters – An Animated Proposal – v2.0”:http://youtube.com/watch?v=Syxwkc36jas

Awesome video. Funny and really, really inventive.

bq. I produced this animation as a way of proposing to my girlfriend (now wife) Natasha. I assembled a team of 20 animators to assist me, including co-workers, as well as students from my 3D character animation class at the Art Institute of California-San Francisco. We created more than four minutes of animation in just three months. When it was completed, I surprised Natasha by bringing her to the Parkway Movie Theater in Oakland, where they played the animation on the big screen in front of over 100 of our friends and family. The entire event was filmed for the TLC television show “A Perfect Proposal.”

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2006 5:09 pm

    That was great! Their wedding invitation video was really good, too.

  2. December 31, 2006 11:14 pm

    Nice! We watched the invitation tonight and enjoyed it thoroughly.

    For the full scoop of the story behind the Proposal animation and how he pulled off the actual asking, see below:

    Love Letters – About the Animation

  3. Slothboy permalink
    January 2, 2007 12:48 pm

    That was cool. I wonder if she realized what was up before it was over.

    So… anybody want to tell their proposal stories? Seems like a good lead in.

  4. Crazy E permalink
    January 2, 2007 4:44 pm

    I had proposed to a girl I had been seeing for 7 months while in Japan. Turns out, she was already engaged to someone else. Why she decided to not let me in on that particular bit of information (the other guy was working up in Hokkaido, I guess) I’ll never know.
    Not so much of a clever proposal, but kind of surprising. Anyway, as you can tell, that didn’t work out. You think you know someone….huh.

    -EJ

  5. Slothboy permalink
    January 2, 2007 4:49 pm

    OH SNAP!

  6. Crazy E permalink
    January 2, 2007 4:57 pm

    Stupid New Year’s Resolution, being more honest about myself. It’s going to get me into some trouble, but overall it should be positive.

    Anyway, someone else’s proposal story. Please.
    -CEJ

  7. January 2, 2007 10:04 pm

    Alrighty. I’ll step and tell a story. To a new post, we go!

  8. January 3, 2007 1:28 pm

    The ol’ 81 Hutch is experiencing technical difficulties right now (like I can’t log in to do anything). So, the proposal post may need to wait a bit until this gets sorted out…

  9. Slothboy permalink
    January 4, 2007 11:43 am

    Then I’ll take the heat off of E.

    Allison and I had a running rant about how much the prizes in cracker jack boxes suck. We went to the coast one saturday and had a good old time shopping and eating at Moe’s. We then went to a secluded beach where I made a fire and we watched the dumbest sunset ever made. (Sorry God, it really was lame.)

    I handed Allison a box of Cracker Jacks. She happily munched until she found the prize packet. “I bet it is something lame like stickers,” she said as she tore it open. She gasped as the diamond ring inside sparkled in the firelight. I asked her to marry me.

    The kicker was when she showed it to her Grandpa. In his standard teasing fashion (and I didn’t tell him to do this, I swear) he declared, “Where’d you find that? In a Cracker Jack box?” Allison giggled and said, “As a matter of fact, I did.”

    Yes, I am a ninja.

  10. January 4, 2007 12:00 pm

    Well done, Ninja Master. Teach me your way O wise sensei.

  11. Slothboy permalink
    January 4, 2007 2:21 pm

    I used my trusty pocket knife and carefully opened up the bottom of the package. I cut under the glued bottom flaps so they just came apart. I dumped the contents into a bowl and extracted the prize pouch. I then cut a piece of paper to cover the backside of the prize pouch, making a NEW pouch that I put the ring in. I used a clear liquid glue stick to seal it shut so it looked just like the regular package except that the back was white. The original package did indeed contain crappy stickers so I figured they wouldn’t be in the way. They weren’t. I then reinserted the goodies into the box and resealed the bottom with my glue stick again. I then marked the tampered box by taping a tiny scrap of paper to it. I removed said scrap as I handed it to her later.

    I was actually suprised at how well it worked. I was worried that she might decide she didn’t want the cracker jacks or that I would hand her the wrong one, depsite my precautions. It went perfectly though. She tore the pouch lenghtwise down the middle and the ring popped up, diamond first.

Leave a Reply

