Skip to content

Proposal

January 4, 2007

As “Slothboy and Eli have suggested”:http://www.stephscandlehutch.com/hutch/article/animated#c000994, gather round boys and girls for the story of how Hutch proposed to Mrs. Hutch.

Mid-semester break (mid October) of 2000. Steph and I head down on the Thursday to my folks house in San Jose, CA. My best friend Benji comes over (with drama planned). Having just broken up with his then girlfriend just a few weeks before (true), and a lot of his friends having moved away to college (true), Benji comes over to my folks house on Friday and acts quite depressed (not true). We jam like we’ve done countless times (him on piano, me on guitar) and he is terrible (absolutely not true). My mom even comments to Steph how she’s never heard him play so poorly. He must be really upset.

Hook.

Next morning, my folks get doorbell ditched. Note on the porch. From Benji. He’s been feeling down and with it being mid semester break (and other guys being home from college as well that weekend), we should all take a trip to the City (San Fran) to be together like old times. But let’s make it fun. Let’s make it a scavenger hunt of sorts. Head to “Baker Beach”:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baker_Beach. You’ll find your next clue in a picnic basket around a certain time. Sorry Allen, I know this was your weekend for you and Steph to hang out with your folks, but I figured they wouldn’t mind.

Line.

Steph and I take off for “Baker Beach”:http://www.nps.gov/archive/prsf/places/bakerbch.htm (which is at the base of the Golden Gate bridge). It’s about an hour drive. Steph’s excited. Fun adventures. I’m nervous as all get out. Due to timing and such, we end up getting to the beach parking lot a little after said certain time. Steph’s worried that the basket will be stolen if it’s sitting out there for too long. We should hurry. But I have to use the facilities (’cause I’m nervous as all get out). Steph gets super angry with me (no joke). She can’t believe I would want to possibly ruin Benji’s plan. We should get the basket first. Can’t I hold it? NO! (Seriously, I don’t think I could have). My stubbornness wins out and she waits for me. We then proceed to the beach.

We see the basket a way’s off down the beach. We truck over and there is this nice big basket on top of a blanket. I tell Steph I’ll open it (cause Benji’s my friend and all). I get down on one knee and pull out of the basket a jewelry box that has a painting of the Golden Gate bridge on it. I turn to Steph, open the box and ask if she’ll marry me.

Sinker.

Epilogue: As Steph comes out of shock and we’re hugging, she sees someone taking pictures of us. At first she thinks nothing of it, just someone who saw what was happening and thought to take pictures of the moment. But the person continues to take pictures. How weird. Hey, w…a…i…t a second, that’s Benji!

Yep. He comes over. The three of us share some sparkling cider (also in the picnic basket), pray and go on our merry way. Steph and I then proceeded to “Pier 39”:http://www.pier39.com/ for a fun day of hanging out.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Slothboy permalink
    January 4, 2007 4:20 pm

    That’s cool. Even better that you have actual photos of the event. The interactive proposals always seem like the most fun.

    You should get Fogey to tell his story. As I understand it he put on a bald wig and a TNG uniform. He walked up to Krista, handed her a box with the ring in it, pointed at her and said, “Engage!”

    At least, that’s what I heard.

  2. January 4, 2007 4:41 pm

    That is a cool story – and made for a perfect opener for your slideshow. 🙂

    Slothboy: no comment.

  3. Steph permalink
    January 6, 2007 9:34 am

    Well, since my story was already shared, I will simply say it was a perfect proposal, especially since in the end I got to marry such a romantic and clever man.

  4. January 8, 2007 1:15 am

    Y’all are hilarious. You’ve made the last few days entertaining yet difficult, as I couldn’t really comment on this thread of discussion. Until now. Check out my blog!

  5. January 8, 2007 8:56 am

    Tr, wanted to be there. So happy for you and Kelly! Congrats!

  6. January 8, 2007 10:25 am

    Thanks! I figured you wanted to be there, but you’ve got all those kids… You know, at least once a week Kelly reminds me that we still need to do dinner with you two!

Leave a Reply

