Skip to content

NIV to ESV

January 11, 2007

“Mars Hill Church is switching from NIV to ESV”:http://theresurgence.com/md_blog_2007-01-10_preaching_and_teaching_from_the_esv. Might not be a big deal to most, but I think it’s a big deal. Switching away from NIV is definitely not the norm.

“Driscoll has written a great paper explaining why”:http://theresurgence.com/mark_driscoll_2007-01-09_pastoral_reflections_on_bible_translations. Thorough ‘text and canon’ type stuff going on here.

I’ve never read the ESV, but having skimmed Driscoll’s paper, I’m intrigued. I’ve been using NASB since day 2 of Friesen’s Pentateuch class, and most recently the NET Bible for a refreshing read.

Anybody out there using the ESV?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2007 11:03 am

    Whem my pastor’s not preaching directly out of Greek or Hebrew, he’s using ESV. I haven’t switched yet, because my fiancee just got me an NLT bible last year for my birthday, but I hear good things…

  2. January 12, 2007 3:37 pm

    We’ve been primarily reading from ESV for about three years. But not because of any T&C issues. Just because the compact size Bible I bought to fit in my purse was ESV and then Geary kiped it for himself so I bought another one…I haven’t noticed anything majorly different though. I’ll have to check out Driscoll’s reasons.

  3. March 24, 2007 2:45 pm

    Logos Bible software (an admittedly Evangelical resource) highly recommends the ESV Greek/Hebrew interlineary. I’ve not paid much attention to it as I’m still fond of NIV for preaching purposes. With a bit of Greek and a lot of Hebrew studies behind me, it still seems to capture the notion of each phrase better than others. Will need to give a better look at the ESV.

  4. March 24, 2007 3:27 pm

    i have been using the esv off and on. there are disads and advantages with every translation.

    personally, i like the esv for its effort to keep the wording more literal, if thats what i am looking for. but sometimes literal isnt what you want.

    a really good translation that isnt literal but rather based upon etymology of hebrew is the JPS old testament, you should check it out. it gives a lotta insight into the hebrewness of the OT

    peter

Leave a Reply

