Skip to content

Whallop

March 15, 2007

Steph and I got whalloped tonight.

By my mom.

Had the folks over for dinner tonight and we played Ticket to Ride, as is the custom. Know that my mother has never won playing this game.

Not so tonight. We learn after the whole debacle that my mother started the game with L.A. to Chicago and L.A. to New York. Then she gets Chicago to Sante Fe. Then she gets Seattle to L.A. Then she gets Portland to Phoenix. All in all, she ends up with 98 points off of tickets alone.

For those not in the know, 98 is a very good score for your tickets and your trains. But not tonight. Tonight saw my mom end up with 152 points. And that’s not even with longest train (that honor went to Steph).

I came in not-even-close second with 113. Steph got 109 and my dad got 105. My dad, Steph and I all played a very solid game. But when you’re up against cards that practically lay on top of each other, you’ve just got no chance.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2007 9:16 am

    I know that you have a VERY good reason for moving to Boston, but I must say that I’m slightly annoyed that you have to move right before we move to Oregon. Think of all the game nights our families could have had!! Gah!

  2. March 16, 2007 9:41 am

    Eh? What’s this? Moving to Oregon? When? Why? Cool!

    And yes indeed. Many a game night would have been had.

  3. Slothboy permalink
    March 16, 2007 9:50 am

    Dude, I just had a similar experience. I was playing Jibba Jabba Flip Flop with my wife and her parents. She totally nailed the Reflux with a Double Slick WIDGET!

    For those of you who don’t know a Double Slick Widget is about as good as you can get. But after only 17 phases and a half turn it is virtually unfathomable!

    She threw down her chits and invoked the Chan Ti by speaking the power words. We were like MAAAN! That is some Jibba Jabba right there!

  4. March 16, 2007 10:31 am

    Shut up Deryk.

  5. Slothboy permalink
    March 16, 2007 10:39 am

    Unfathomable.

  6. March 16, 2007 11:19 am

    Agreed. 🙂

  7. kinsanth permalink
    March 17, 2007 8:31 am

    Wood for sheep? Oh, sorry, wrong thingy.

Leave a Reply

