Skip to content

Pritchard for MVP

June 28, 2007

Not only do we get Oden, but then we get rid of Randolph in the same day?  That Kevin Pritchard is a hero.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2007 2:25 am

    I agree. Portland’s future was bright with #1 pick, but to dumping Zach on the same day was huge. Pritchard is 2 for 2 as far as draft days go. Also, Oden has a blog:
    http://www.yardbarker.com/users/gregoden

  2. June 29, 2007 2:38 am

    I love what he’s done so far, and I couldn’t be more excited to actually go to a game or two, but I have one concern. I am nervous that Pritchard might be too in love with trades and tinkering. Granted, he is really good at it, but I’m hopeful that he is smart enough to leave good enough alone, once that time comes. But for today, I think its a great day for Portland basketball. The team should be fun to watch develop and become good together. I really think playoffs are not out of the picture next year, or at least in two.

  3. June 29, 2007 5:08 pm

    I love the Sports Guys comment on the Randolph trade in his draft diary:

    6:14: Good God, Isiah finally made a good trade! It happened! Somehow, he just landed Zach Randolph for Channing Frye and Stevie Francis! I’m shocked! What’s happening to this league? Even Isiah is doing the right thing! I can’t stop using exclamation points! How was that the best Portland could do for Randolph?!? He’s good for a 25-10 in the East! And if it doesn’t work out, who cares? They gave up a bad contract and a half-decent forward to take a $50 million flier on a dominant low-post player. Great move. I stand by these thoughts even if Zach starts an international incident at Scores within the next nine months.

    (Follow-up note: I think Portland GM Kevin Pritchard spent an hour thinking about it and decided, “You know what? Just to be safe, maybe it’s best that Oden and Randolph never, ever, ever meet. Call Isiah and tell him we say yes to the crappy Francis-Frye offer. We can’t mess around.”)

Leave a Reply

