Skip to content

HP Publishing

June 29, 2007

Great article on the publishing side on life:

Harry Potter and the Sinister Spoilers

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Slothboy permalink
    June 29, 2007 11:32 am

    That is interesting. I didn’t really consider the lengths they have to go to to keep people from reading before they are allowed.

    The author of that article makes a good point about how reading a book isn’t just about a surprise ending, but I am glad they are taking steps to ensure secrecy. Yeah, I’ve got books that I have read multiple times, but you can’t recapture that moment of discovery, as you are immersed in the story, where something new is learned. Rereading allows you to revisit that experience, but it can never be as powerful as that first moment of revelation.

    I have always said that I wish I could forget some books or movies right before I revisit them. How awesome would it be if you could forget the Matrix before you rewatched it? or what about The Usual Suspects? I wish I could relive my first reading of The Lord of the Rings or The Dark Tower series. Yeah, I completely enjoy repeat experiences with those things, but the true magic moment, in my opinion, is not opening the cover, but standing beside the characters as they experience something for the first time.

  2. June 29, 2007 2:55 pm

    I can vividly remember the first time I read the ending to The Two Towers. I had seen the movie of Fellowship, just a few weeks prior and had consumer the trilogy after that. I remember staying up way late, with a flashlight in hand so I didn’t wake my new bride (we had been married for a month at that point I think). When Sam discovers Frodo cold on the ground… and then the orcs come… and then the books ends. I’m getting chills just typing this out. I believe I stayed up another hour starting Return of the King (and of course, the Frodo/Sam quest didn’t come back into view until half way thru Return…).

    I understand what you mean D.

Leave a Reply

