Skip to content

Eight is enough

July 5, 2007

Laura tagged me with this little crazy 8 meme that has been making the rounds. Let’s roll:

  1. I have to post these rules before I give you the facts.
  2. Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
  3. People who are tagged need to write their own blog (about their eight things) and post these rules.
  4. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names tell people to volunteer.
  5. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog. Doesn’t everyone read my blog? 🙂

Eight random facts/habits about the author:

  1. I really enjoy technical creation. It’s why I enjoy my job so much. Creativity within certain rules. I would love to design web-sites and the like. I just don’t have enough time to pursue it at length. That and my life is apparently going in a different direction.
  2. I enjoy the Easter time Peeps marshmallow treats. As I kid I could easily wolf down a whole box. Now I can only handle two or three at a time. But I still like them.
  3. I really enjoy learning Greek. A whole lot. I think I would have enjoyed my original choice for a major at MBC, NT Greek. My brother talked me out of it and I went with his recommendation of Speech Comm. I’m very glad I picked Speech Comm… but part of me wonders…
  4. For some reason, not sure why, but getting addicted to World of Warcraft sounds like a ton of fun.  But there’s this whole wife and family thing I’ve got going on.
  5. I wish there was a not uncomfortable way to talk about sex with people other than your spouse.  I think there is immense value in the knowledge that you’re not alone on something (a view, a thought, a preference), but there just isn’t really a means in this culture to do so openly, yet tactfully.  There is only one other couple that Steph and I are friends with that we can talk about sex in a comfortable, upfront yet respectful manner.  Obviously there is discretion in it, but I still wish it wasn’t quite so taboo.
  6. A lot of times, on the way to get the mail, I will think to myself, “Hey, I wonder if anybody sent us money…”
  7. U2 is now one of my favorite bands.  It was not always like this though.  My first girlfriend was a HUGE fan of U2 back in the mid 90s before U2 was fully part of the mainstream and before Bono was very much in the Public Eye with all his charity/awareness work.  We (in youth group) all thought she was kinda strange for liking that weird band.  She had it right; we were wrong.
  8. Stephanie-submitted random fact about the author: “Allen thinks it’s dumb when women dye their hair back to their natural color.”  It’s true.  It’s a gigantic waste of money.  But that’s just me.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2007 10:41 pm

    great taste in bands but you know U2 was pretty cool in the 80s too, right. they had the absolutely cool 80s hair and all. would it gross you out if i declared that bono was then and now a sexy beast? i know it does for my girls.
    thanks for playing allen and i’m glad that steph helped too.

  2. July 8, 2007 12:46 pm

    so i tagged you again because i know music is a big part of your life.
    hugs to your girls!

  3. Slothboy permalink
    July 9, 2007 6:35 pm

    I’m with you on the sex talk thing. Even Slothina is not terribly comfortable discussing such things. I actually have a huge theory about the overcompensation of Christian parents regarding sex education. Rather than highlighting the importance of practicing it in a healthy marriage they more often tend towards negative reinforcement to the point that once you are married and it is suddenly “ok”, you still feel guilty for thinking about it.

    Anyhow, I’m available if you ever have the need of such a chat. I’ve got some pretty funny stories.

  4. July 9, 2007 7:22 pm

    SpeechCom was easily the coolest major at MBC, and you know it! 🙂

  5. July 10, 2007 12:55 am

    Number 5 is definitely a hard one to “discuss.” Although, as Sloth said, there can be good humor (not the ice cream) found when talking with other couples.

    As for your band choice…U2 is a great band. Some reason Joshua Tree is still my fav.

    Peeps…(I threw up a little bit in my mouth)

    Neal

  6. mel permalink
    July 13, 2007 7:42 pm

    You too? I’m always thinkin’ that when I check the mail… you’d think I’d be over it by now… but I’m not. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Oh No, More Meme-ings! « Unrealistic Expectations

Leave a Reply

