Skip to content

Catholics and Protestants Unite

July 11, 2007

Or not.

Thank you Pope-y.

To read the document and get a little insight, check out Scot McKnight’s take.

Really puts a damper on the whole RC and everybody else coming together thing.  Oy vei.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Slothboy permalink
    July 12, 2007 6:51 pm

    Meh, any time the Catholics chase me down and call me a low church ecclisial community I just shout “hey look, the Virgin Mary is appearing in my tea bag!” and they get all excited and confused and fall down.

    Then I GIVE them the ‘tea bag’.

  2. July 13, 2007 4:10 pm

    “save me, jeebus!”

  3. July 14, 2007 11:24 am

    Great editorial from CNN

    http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/07/13/martin/index.html

  4. July 26, 2007 3:03 pm

    I’m getting attacked as a Protestant more than I ever have. Until I was an adult, I never heard of all these attitudes, Pope in the paper calling me “defective” (NY Times), and his way or the highway, re salvation. The guy was a nazi, for real. Don’t people want to be a little more discerning about who to chose to teach them scripture (much less in Latin, which Jesus never knew). I mean, I started reading their teachings and was stunned. Glad I grew up where people taught me to read for myself, chose my teachers, ask what I really think. Whew. Were it not for the attacks, I’d never have known, but now, many more are moving in, I think it’s the immigration thing—Pope, plus congress for cheap labor, wallmart, etc, and suddenly, it’s just a Catholic world. Unite? Why? They think we’re defective and feel sorry for us, plus they have a horrifying history of murders, and against everybody from Jews to Muslims, you name it. Other groups kill sometimes, but few have a true program that says to all their kids, as they raise them, that others are “defective.” I never heard that about any other group, believe me. Anway, the one energy that can’t live peaceably with others is that kind of thing. It’s not about “tolerance” either, but about real interest in others. I find all this very disturbing. I don’t want to live around this kind of energy at all. After the pope goes on tv, papers and says this stuff, and you know some of the history with the nazi’s, sex abuse cases, etc, you have to sort of assume that those who follow him buy into it—I mean, uh, they’re in it. Oh well. I hope this energy and spirit doesn’t get too deep into America, if it already hasn’t.

  5. Slothboy permalink
    July 26, 2007 6:27 pm

    Pick a forum at random on the internet. Just make it a secular one. Enter into any topic and give your perspective and make it clear that it is a Christian perspective. Watch what happens as you get torn to pieces for being a close-minded idiot. I have done this and the people on the side of the discussion I was AGREEING with attacked me.

    There is an atmosphere of extreme negativity towards Christians right now. Watch the news. The most common stories with Christian tie-ins are ones that highlight some extremist bible thumper shooting his mouth off and making the rest of us look bad. We are being made fun of right now on a large scale.

    I hate to be a harbinger of doom, but it’s only gonna get worse. Right now Catholics think you are defective and are announcing that publicly. The Internet agrees with them.

Leave a Reply

