Skip to content

Music Meme

July 11, 2007

While I wait for my newest work to download, I’ll respond to Laura’s music meme (thank you for tagging me again; it helps me to come up with new material for the blog 🙂 ).

Name between 5 & 10 songs that have made an impact on your life. I’ll leave it up to you to decide how many you wish to describe.

  1. Roll on (Eighteen Wheeler) by Alabama. We took lots of road trips as a kid. My folks listened to country music (when it was still country, and not the country/pop stuff it is now). Many memories of riding in the back of a big blue 1984 Chevy Suburban come back when I hear this song.
  2. Devil Went Down to Georgia by Charlie Daniels’ Band. See above. Also, first song I memorized. Still love to sing it at the top of my lungs. I can be in a crappy mood, listen to this song and said crappy mood will be gone.
  3. Be Still by Steven Curtis Chapman. Steph walked down the aisle to this song. To this day, and I presume I will for the rest of this life, when I hear this song, I cry.
  4. Jesus Loves Me by ???. The lullaby I sang to get Ms. Abigael Rose to fall asleep without her doll. Bill and Laura get home, and they are astounded. She had never gone to sleep before without said doll. Had no idea. It was the only good lullaby I knew the words to. However, this song has taken on new significance for me now that we have kids. It’s the song we sing at least daily to the girls. Lizzie is learning to sing it now. When she’s upset at nigh’-nigh’ time, I tell her to ‘sing to Jesus’ and she begins to sing this song. This song will now forever be important to me and holds a special place in my heart.
  5. Our Happy Home by David Crowder Band.  Amazing song that helps me to remember this is not our home and we are moving/pressing on to something better.  Check out the lyrics.

Hallelujah, we are on our way
Hallelujah, we are on our way to God

From Egypt lately come
Where death and darkness reign
To seek our new our better home
Where we our rest shall gain

There sin and sorrow cease
And every conflict’s o’er
There we shall dwell in endless peace
And never hunger more

Jerusalem, our happy home
Would God I were in Thee
Would God my woes were at an end
Thy joy that I might see

We soon shall join the throng
Their pleasures we shall share
And sing the everlasting song
With all the ransomed there

Jerusalem, our happy home
Would God I were in Thee
Would God my woes were at an end
Thy joy that I might see

There in celestial strains
Enraptured myriads sing
There love in every bosom reigns
For God Himself is King

Jerusalem, our happy home
Would God I were in Thee
Would God my woes were at an end
Thy joy that I might see

Jerusalem, our happy home
Would God we were in Thee
Would God our woes were at an end
Thy joy at last shall see

As has become custom here, do ye’ ol meme on your blog if you’re up for it and note it in the comments here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

