Skip to content

Surface

October 29, 2007

You ever had something weighing on you, so much to the point that you can literally feel it as if it were strapped to your chest, but you didn’t quite know how to express it?  Just the sheer emotion of it, the wanting deeply to be understood, but not knowing how to communicate it.

There is a long standing maxim in communication theory that says you move from the known to the unknown.  But what happens when you can’t find the known?

I think this is the realm that music takes over.  A piece of what Lubeck would call musical integrity, when the music and the lyrics accurately represent one another.  Do you know the song, The Way I Feel by 12 Stones?  Right before the solo, the lead vocalist shouts “I feel like this…” and then the solo kicks in: deep, powerful, distorted tones with an overwhelming sense of emotion and power.  You can tangibly hear the emotion of the author through the music.

All that to say that right now, I wish I were alone in a place where I could play my guitar as loud as I wanted.  But alas, my wife and two daughters sleep soundly.  And I am left to structural drawings.

Lord Jesus.  You knew depth of emotion that has never been matched.  You sweat blood.  You wept at the pain of a daughter who thought she had lost her brother.  Your very soul was ripped in two as you were separated from Yourself.  What is my pain to that?  Thank you for understanding my feeble emotions.  Steady them.  Refine them.  Help me love those who cause the emotions.  Be thou glorified Great God of the heavens, the earth and under the earth.  You are worthy to open the book and undo its seals.  Only You.  Come quickly and undo all that has been done contrary to your greatness.  Bring your kingdom to its finality.  O that you would come.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2007 4:52 pm

    All that to say that right now, I wish I were alone in a place where I could play my guitar as loud as I wanted.

    Amen. I don’t know how many times I have felt the same way.

Leave a Reply

