Skip to content

Balance

November 7, 2007

Appropriate and convicting post from Scot McKnight for those of us pursuing further education for the ultimate purpose of teaching the Word:

Letter to an Inquirer

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2007 10:58 am

    Very interesting. So, being a seminary student what were your thoughts on the post and some of the comments (specifically by shane) left in regards to the post. (I happen to find the comments to be even more thought provoking than the post itself).

  2. Jeana permalink
    November 8, 2007 12:34 pm

    I only quickly scanned the comments but to me, it sounded like Shane was kind of inconsistant, was trying to justify why he dropped out of church community for a while, and really only wanted to make Scott address that the Emerging Church is “doing church” differently from “Traditional Church” (and by traditional church, I mean church since 1900). He kept wanting to bring up “the dichotomy” when the point of Scott’s post was not separating, but balancing. I appreciated Clinton’s comment about “how can the church BE the body when its constituent parts are separating themselves for a season?”

    Did you struggle with that balance issue while at MBC? I definitely relate to “bracketing off” my faith when the real life implications of what I was learning got too overwhelming.

  3. November 12, 2007 7:23 pm

    As a seminary student, seeing how things have gone thus far, I think it would be pretty radical to put church above studies right now and make those folks I don’t know the priority. I don’t necessarily agree with Scot. Just REALLY hard to implement right now.

    Jeana, to answer your question, yes, there definitely was a struggle while at MBC. I helped out at CB’s youth group freshman year, but was totally cut out from the rest of the body except for Sunday morning services. Sophomore year I was working at Portland Resuce Mission and helping out at Imago Dei, but I wouldn’t have say that church was my priority. Junior year RA, same deal, but less so. My last year, fuh-get about it.

Leave a Reply

