Skip to content

HP5 movie

December 21, 2007

Finally watched Order of the Phoenix last night for the first time.  I liked it.  I think they did a much better job paring down a 900 page book this go round than with Goblet.  And they absolutely nailed the Dumbledore/Voldemort duel.

One question: wasn’t Bellatrix fat in the book?  That’s the way I always imagined her for some reason.  Threw me for a loop when the skinny crazy woman breaks out of Azkaban.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Slothboy permalink
    December 21, 2007 1:24 pm

    No, they never described her as fat. But if she was in Azkaban for years how could she be fat? Skinny and crazy is probably more likely.

    I liked it too. I felt like there was one or two moments that were missing from the film in theaters, but I haven’t seen the “extended” dvd yet so maybe they are in now. Overall the best film since Prisoner.

  2. December 22, 2007 2:30 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. I was pretty disappointed. I’m surprised to hear that you like the duel. I felt like they botched it. In the book Dumbledore was protecting Harry and it seemed like that was the only reason he wasn’t stronger. But, I’ve always felt they have portrayed Dumbledore as bumbling over powerful in the movie. Also, my favorite thing about that fight was Dumbledore using the fountain statues to protect Harry. I kept waiting for it, but alas…..

  3. Slothboy permalink
    December 26, 2007 6:49 pm

    Well, see I liked the Duel a lot. It was the first time we saw wizards who were clearly at the top of their game. They weren’t just shouting “Impedimenta” at each other, they were controlling and hurling magics at each other that went beyond the garden variety spells that kids learn at Hogwarts. No silly little incantations here, they were using something more akin to raw power.

    I guess the lucky ones who saw that in IMAX 3-D found it even more impressive.

Leave a Reply

