Skip to content

Fort

January 11, 2008

Lizzie and Ellie got a play tent and attaching tunnel for Christmas. Today, Steph set them up in the front room with the tent next to a little open space in between our big chair and love seat (Lizzie has been utilizing this open space quite a bit lately, pretending it’s her house). Steph then draped a big piece of material from the top of the tent over the open space. Instant fort (boy terms, I know. Maybe it was a sun room to Lizzie. 🙂 )

Tonight, after we put Ellie down to bed, Lizzie wanted me to crawl in there and read to her. It. Was. Awesome.

Having kids has retaught me the value of make-believe and pretending. It was wonderful to be in that space with her and have fun, especially reading to her (which I will admit I don’t do often enough).

Why is it that pretending in any context has become so socially unacceptable with adults? And at what point in a person’s life? Oh, how I long for the days of forts and stick swords and index finger guns.

Anyway, Lizzie, it was awesome to read to you tonight in your play house that Mommy built. I love you.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeana permalink
    January 12, 2008 3:29 pm

    This post makes me smile. And it also reminds me of the movie Finding Neverland. Have you seen it?

  2. January 12, 2008 8:25 pm

    Yep. Loved it. One of Johnny Depp’s better films.

  3. January 14, 2008 12:14 pm

    That sounds great – it reminds me that I can still do “boy stuff” with our coming daughter. Oh forts…

    Hey – you don’t know of anyone who has a copy of dream weaver that I could borrow do you, or where I can find a cheap (legal) copy online?

    Cheers man

  4. Slothboy permalink
    January 14, 2008 1:59 pm

    It’s not socially acceptable? Oops.

    *puts finger back in holster*

  5. January 14, 2008 2:03 pm

    Joshua,

    Yeah, you may have to tweak things a bit, but there are definitely boyish things to do with the girls.

    As for Dream Weaver, unfortunately, no and no. I used Nvu (one of the many open source alternatives to DW) for a while and it worked well for me. Not sure what exactly you’re looking for, but given the quality of the open source world these days, it might be worth a peak.

    Slothy, it’s okay, I won’t tell anyone.

Leave a Reply

