Skip to content

Romno

February 7, 2008

Great brief article from Time on why Romney didn’t work out.

Why Romney’s Product Launch Failed

My synopsis: he seemed fake.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2008 7:46 am

    He is fake according to one guy I heard on some podcast; and he knows Romney.

  2. Ian Yetter permalink
    February 8, 2008 9:33 am

    I thought that was part of being a politician.

  3. February 8, 2008 10:49 am

    Please point out which one is real. Hello? Anyone? What I thought.

    I shudder at the thought of Obama, Hillary, or even McCain running this country. Although I shudder at reviewing what Bush has done over the last few years as well.

  4. Molo permalink
    February 8, 2008 1:46 pm

    Wow. Cynical group here. I don’t think you can go off a friend of a friend of a friend who has this Web 2.0 thing that interviewed a guy once who shook Romney’s hand, or base politcial decisions on who’s “real” or not. Seriously, who’s real? What does that even mean? Is this a street cred issue? Are we looking for an OG with a street team and hustlers? “Being Real” is a standard that’s bandied about without ever being defined. Much like “change”. If it’s honest or truthful that we’re looking to judge, well, we have two perfectly serviceable words in English to describe that. I just used them.

    But this election just makes me long for the days of taxes being raised and shadow wars declared, backroom deals and amnesty to illegal aliens, a pledge of military strength in the Middle East that “won’t be cowed by terrorism” which then withdraws 4 months later, economic craziness and confusing scandals.

    You know, the Reagan years.

  5. Kinsanth permalink
    February 8, 2008 2:21 pm

    Or maybe you’d prefer the 90’s. Y’know, no Cold War, no War on Terror, and still having thousands of military men and women killed in combat overseas every year. Back when the President being a liar was documented fact, not just a pithy bumper sticker slogan. Back when doing TV advertisements was the end of a rapper’s career, not the peak. Man, remember when Microsoft was the evil monolithic, soulless corporation trying to break into everybody’s homes via their computers, not Google? Boy, those were the days!

  6. February 12, 2008 3:41 am

    I like pizza….

    Thought I’d mention an actual happy thought. It’s my contribution.

  7. February 13, 2008 5:54 am

    Hey Molo,

    I did not remember which of the podcasts I listen to was the one with this quote. I did not think it was that important at the time.

    I don’t think you can go off a friend of a friend of a friend who has this Web 2.0 thing that interviewed a guy once who shook Romney’s hand, or base politcial decisions on who’s “real” or not.

    This was a podcast of NPR’s “Wait Wait… Dont’ Tell Me!” And the guy was a top political advisor who said something to the nature of: “I know all the candidates, and while I disagree with many of them, I have profound respect for everyone except Romney. Why? Because they say what they believe. Romney does not. Therefore I have no respect for him.”

    Politics is a game of choosing the lesser of two (or more) evils. All I was trying to say is that I was glad one of the options was gone—my least favorite.

Leave a Reply

