Skip to content

Simple joys

April 6, 2008

It’s all about the simple joys in life, right?  At least I heard that often growing up.  Realized a simple joy for myself today while doing the laundry.  I really like to clean the lint trap on the dryer.  The way you work a tiny bit of lint off with the edge of your finger and then use that little bit to get the rest.  Don’t know why, but I like it.

And you?  Your simple joys?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2008 7:46 pm

    Despite the bad rap many people give it I have always loved pushing the lawnmower around the yard. There is something relaxing about it, and at the end one can say, “I started here and finished there. I did all this.”

  2. Maria permalink
    April 7, 2008 2:38 am

    Just like when I like to vacuum. I love seeing the lines in the carpet.

  3. Neal permalink
    April 7, 2008 5:48 pm

    Getting a perfectly clean, streak-less window on the house, car, or even my sunglasses….ah pure heaven.

    BTW, dryer lint makes a great fire-starter during camping trips.

  4. April 8, 2008 7:30 pm

    Hi Allen. It’s so fun to find you from Laura’s blog! You’re all grown up and with KIDS… crazy! I recently have been in touch with Kenny Rawson too… so fun to connect with people from long ago. Drop me an email and let me know what you are up too… from the little I read here I’m assuming school. I’d love to know more…

    Diane Davis
    http://www.msdianedavis.blogspot.com
    msdianedavis@yahoo.com

  5. April 24, 2008 4:33 pm

    Strangely, I have found myself saying “self, is this a simple joy?” on several occassions over the last week or so. I have noticed several things I enjoy, but nothing that I felt fit the “simple joys” criteria. Well, I think last night I discovered a simple joy. Which was a double joy, since I’d been on the lookout for a simple joy. My simple joy is cutting a piece of Mozzarella cheese off the block. It is so easy to cut into. I mean, cutting into cheddar cheese is full of danger and hard work, but Mozzarella, that stuff is like butter. Well, maybe a little more resistant than butter, but you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

