Skip to content

Sad but true

April 21, 2008

Just confirmed what I had been afraid was true.

Ever since moving out here, I have gotten opinion after opinion that to teach undergrad, I would need a doctorate. “But so many of my profs at MBC didn’t have PhD’s when they started,” I wanted to respond. That was then. This is now. I knew they were right.

But as confirmation, my dream job in the States, returning to my alma-mater to teach, just got pushed a bit farther away.

Multnomah has an opening for Assistant Professor of Bible and Theology (PDF). And there it is, clear as day:

Candidates should possess a doctorate in Theology (PhD or ThD) with teaching experience.

Sigh.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 10:28 am

    Yeah, last time I talked to Mike Gurney, he was looking at finally finishing his doctorate via correspondence that he used to talk about when when we were there. Granted, his story is different. At the end of the day, I think they just looked at him and figured they were better off with him around than not. And now I hear rumblings of more philosophy courses..

    Here is how I take that “job posting” sentence though…
    translation – “You would have to be an excellent teacher with a solid Masters, good references and backround before we would even consider you without a PhD/ThD – basically, the perfect fit.”

    What is impossible for man…

  2. April 21, 2008 12:00 pm

    That is true… it doesn’t say ‘must have’. Point well made Señor Fogey.

    And touché about Gurn Dawg. That guy was a quality pick up by MBC.

  3. April 21, 2008 4:59 pm

    As would you.

    You just have to prove it. 🙂

  4. April 22, 2008 12:19 am

    You can do it Allen! Or you could just move to Thailand and teach here where you don’t have to have a degree and you could see me on a regular basis. 🙂

    I just posted a HP question on my blog. Read it and see if you have any insight for me! Thanks!

  5. April 22, 2008 4:30 am

    Come and check out Cedarville College!!!!!! right up the road!!!!

  6. kinsanth permalink
    April 22, 2008 10:36 am

    And, really, face it Hutch. If you were teaching at MBC, Molo and Fogeys and I would totally crash one of your classes.

  7. Geary & Jeana permalink
    April 22, 2008 3:48 pm

    We still carry the hope that our children will go to Multnomah and study under Professor (or Dr.) Hutchison.

  8. April 22, 2008 8:22 pm

    Well thank you all very much. I wasn’t quite expecting this type of response to this post, but it certainly is appreciated. And thank you Geary and Jeana, I don’t take what you said lightly. That is a very humbling statement indeed.

    To Kinsanth: I would expect, and hope for, no less.

  9. April 24, 2008 12:52 am

    I’m telling you CEDARVILLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. April 24, 2008 11:15 am

    Have your guy who knows a guy start talking… 🙂

Leave a Reply

