Skip to content

Milk

April 25, 2008

I grew up on fat free milk.  Still drink it.  1% is not really a problem.  2% is definitely a different taste and I’d rather not have it, but if it’s all there is, or we’re at someone else’s house, no problems.  Whole milk is good for Sbux drinks and with chocolate.  That’s about it.

We get both fat free and whole.  Fat Free for us.  Whole for the kiddos (cause the doc says it’s good for ’em).

But lately, and I’m not sure what prompted it, perhaps the proliferation of the cocoa bean and its confections in our home lately, Steph has been drinking more of the whole milk.  And tonight she said that she was considering not getting fat free anymore, unless I would still drink it.  Um, hello?  I’ve been drinking it for 26+ years thank you.  Not about to switch now.  It appears I will soon be flying solo on the milk drinking.

What about you?  What do you drink?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandon permalink
    April 26, 2008 12:10 am

    I do not drink milk. It gives me gas and pimples.

  2. April 26, 2008 1:08 am

    Wow Brandon, I feel like I know you so much better now. Kinda against my will, but still. 🙂

  3. April 26, 2008 4:13 am

    We do the 1%, though I grew up on 2%. I don’t much care for the fat free. And the whole milk, well, I find that a bit frightening. If I had my druthers, I’d drink 2% all the time. And I’d eat steak and potatoes for dinner every night. My druthers are pretty fat.

  4. April 26, 2008 1:00 pm

    2% is the only milk allowed in the house…NO BLUE WATER!!!

  5. sarah mahar permalink
    April 26, 2008 1:22 pm

    i think whole milk is gross. for drinking i prefer 1%, so i’d support you in your stand for either fat free or 1%. just get the small one for you so that you don’t waste it. 🙂

  6. Laura permalink
    April 26, 2008 4:20 pm

    our entire family drinks fat free. i was one of those “bad mommies” who gave my kiddos fat free milk, but considering the amount of fat in the average american child’s diet (waaaa-aaaayyy too much!), i imagine they have not suffered much at all for it. all 5 of the kids are like you, they can’t deal with 2% or whole complaining the milk at their friends’ houses tastes funny.
    are you going to share the poll results?

  7. April 26, 2008 8:26 pm

    Let me clarify. I have always had fat free milk. Recently I was having a brownie and thought the fat free milk wouldn’t wash down the richness of the chocolate, so I tried the whole that we have in the refrigerator for the girls. It tasted good in that circumstance, though I think I would have preferred 2% or even 1 %, whole and fat free were my options. I don’t know that I could drink whole regularly, but I have become bored with fat free, and was willing to take my chances with the extra fat. Maybe, we should start with 1% and see how we do?

  8. April 26, 2008 10:45 pm

    Grew up on 2%. Switched to 1% in high school. About three years ago went Fat Free for good.

  9. April 27, 2008 2:13 pm

    “wuh-tur”

  10. Slothboy permalink
    April 28, 2008 5:17 pm

    My journey has been the exact opposite. As a youth we drank whole milk until mom decided we should scale back to 2%. Recently the wife decided we should do 1%. It isn’t too bad, a little too watery for me but it works ok.

    Can’t do skim though.

  11. April 30, 2008 6:47 pm

    mmmmmm… milk. I love the stuff. Grew up on whole, couldn’t stand fat free at all until we started buying organic. Now that’s a whole ‘nuther ballgame — the 1% organic is rich like whole without being thick. We buy fat free and 1%, I drink both and every now and then grab the 2% when I’m at the store and feeling frisky.

  12. May 5, 2008 3:41 pm

    Grew up on 1%. Can still handle it ok. Have switched to 2% and love it. Can’t do skim or fat free. It’s like bad water to me. Whole I can manage with but don’t prefer it.

Leave a Reply

