Skip to content

Pillow

April 29, 2008

In light of the great response on the Milk post, let’s discuss another simple but daily piece of our lives.

How many pillows do you sleep with?  I used to be a 2 pillow person, three or more when sick (so all the congestion could drain).  But ever since the whole back snafu, I go with one pillow only.  Any more than that and the angle of my whole body is thrown off and strains my back more than I can handle.  Of course, when it comes to sleeping in motels/hotels, I typically have to go with more since the pillows at most are just a wee bit skinny.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Tam permalink
    April 29, 2008 9:03 pm

    hmmm I am gonna have to say one pillow or none. I start out with 1 surrounded about 4 and then by morning I have inched my way halfway down the bed (I can do that cause I am short!) and end up with none.

  2. Laura permalink
    April 30, 2008 2:50 am

    here the bed is practically covered with pillows but i am sleeping with only one. this past year i have slept in way too many hotel/motels and have learned to bring my own. seriously, it is virtually impossi ble to sleep in these places, no matter the $$$. but i have found bringing my little piece of home (the pillow from my bed) helps a lot.

  3. Maria permalink
    April 30, 2008 7:40 am

    One pillow under my head and for some reason I have been cradling with another one. I use to love to sleep with two, but when you get older…well you know

  4. April 30, 2008 5:05 pm

    I’m a one pillow man.

  5. April 30, 2008 6:52 pm

    When I was in high school I always slept with two, but it was really just because I thought it sounded cool to say I used two. Don’t ask. Now it’s one pillow, worn out and well-squashed. If I’m stuck without my pillow I’m pretty happy with nothing or just a folded-up sweatshirt — anything thicker than that is usually a no-go.

  6. May 1, 2008 10:40 am

    four.

    i hang my head in shame.
    and my husband hangs off the bed.

  7. Slothboy permalink
    May 1, 2008 11:47 am

    one. and even that one was causing me trouble for a while. I was constantly waking up with a stiff neck. i finally got one of those contoured memory foam pillows and while it seems like it should be totally uncomfortable, I sleep better and don’t have any neck pain when I wake up.

  8. Scott permalink
    May 1, 2008 2:54 pm

    Alas, one and a quarter. I have been engaged in a life long pursuit of the perfect pillow, and have yet to find it, or more to the point, my wife will not let me spend money in my quest very often (and really limits how much I can spend.) so I sleep with one, and I am not happy with it, but I try to deal with it (not to well though). I also sleep with a neck pillow that my grandmother made for me, since I am a side/stomach sleeper I tend to sleep with it wedged between my chest and the bed, it make me feel more comfortable (don’t ask why…I am not sure)
    I do however use a “special” pillow case. It is a Start Wars pillow case that I have had since I was a kid, I love that thing!!! My wife hides it under the 6 million pillows that she sleeps under!!

  9. Brandon permalink
    May 2, 2008 2:38 am

    Just one. And it’s beat to snot too. So it’s more like a half pillow at this point. But the most I can do is a full one.

Leave a Reply

