Skip to content

Here’s your sign

May 15, 2008

–Background–

We have soda can recycling receptacles in our laundry rooms.  It’s typically my job to recycle our soda cans (seeing as I’m the one who typically is drinking the soda).

–Story–

Just now, I gather the 6 or 7 rinsed out cans we have by our sink and carefully place them in my arms and hands.  I go to the door and start putting on my sandals.  Ellie turns around, sees that I’m putting on my sandals and says in her cute tone, “Bye-bye.” Steph turns from the computer with a surprised look on her face (I hadn’t announced my leaving), sees what I’m doing and asks, “Recycling the soda cans?”

In true Bill Engvall fashion, before I can come up with anything witty, Steph, now smiling at herself, answers her own question, “Nope, just taking ’em for a walk.”

–Lesson–

Everybody does and says silly things.  But what sets my wife apart is her ability to recover from them. Thing #672 I love about her.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2008 8:23 pm

    That had me laughing out loud! That was awesome…

  2. Jeana permalink
    May 15, 2008 9:34 pm

    You sure got a good one. Wife, that is. When we were loading our moving van last summer a neighbor walked past, “Moving?” It was soooo tempting to respond with, “Nah…every couple months we just like pack up our stuff to see how many boxes it will take.”

  3. Brandon permalink
    May 15, 2008 11:41 pm

    HAHA. It’s like every time I walk out of my room with my skateboard. My roommate usually asks “Goin’ skateboarding?”

    Everytime I think of a different response that I have yet to verbalize “Nope. I was planning on rolling down the hill and racing against it.”

Leave a Reply

