Skip to content

Indy

May 19, 2008

In preparation for Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, we got the trilogy from the library. Steph wasn’t sure which she had seen and I hadn’t seen all of Raiders, and I hadn’t seen Temple of Doom.   Last Crusade is one of my favorite movies period and I have seen it countless times.

We watched Raiders last night. Good, solid film. Bit campy in parts, but come on, it’s Indy. Good stuff.

We just finished Temple.  Oh my word.  What a terrible, atrocious, shouldn’t even be considered part of the trilogy movie.  What a rubbish.  Beyond campy.  Beyond dumb.  Beyond intelligible.

I mean, I don’t even know what to do with this.  I have had this grand image of the Indiana Jones trilogy up to this point.  And it has now been utterly ruined.  I just don’t understand how the first could be so cool, and the third could be so absolutely fantastic, and this second one be complete junk.  Someone please explain this to me.

I will admit though that the mine cart scene was pretty cool.

To end on a fun curiousity note: Raiders was set in 1936.  Temple was clearly marked as 1935.  Why did they put this one before Raiders?  Steph thinks it’s so that there wouldn’t be any confusion with the love interest aspect since the relationship with Marion in the first movie was a little more defined than Indy and chica numerous dos.  I think it’s because the plot line of Temple didn’t include the Nazis so they went earlier so as to not have to explain why Indy wouldn’t continue “fighting the Nazis” (which they wisely returned to in Crusade).  What say you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 1:45 am

    I’m pretty sure that you’re right on the reason for a prequel. Once you start fighting Nazis, there’s no going back.

    Temple of Doom should have served as a warning to all that if given a prequel, Lucas would do his best to screw it up somehow. Actually, I think both Lucas and Spielberg were going through divorces at that same time, or at least I know Lucas was. Personal trauma has a way of sneaking in and darkening creative outputs.

  2. Brandon permalink
    May 19, 2008 2:28 am

    I also agree that the second was by far the worst of the three. But was it really THAT bad? I remember I made it through the whole thing, which means something, because I can barely sit still long enough to watch an episode of the Office, let alone a 2-hour movie. Anyway. Yeah, it’s gross. Really gross. I may have only been able to make it if I was working on a pizza…

    As far as the dating, I think you’re both right to a certain extent. I can’t remember the love interest in the third movie, though…

  3. May 19, 2008 6:18 am

    Still good pics…

    Just saw a preveiw for the new mummy movie…that looks awesome!

  4. Slothboy permalink
    May 19, 2008 12:42 pm

    There are some great moments in temple of doom. Some of my favorite lines from the trilogy are from that one.

    The entire opening up to the end of the ride on the raft is great.
    “What’s that?”
    “Antidote”
    “Antidote for what?”
    “For the poison you just drank.”

    “Nice try Lao She!”

    “WEEE. Are goooing. to DIE.”

    but yeah, overall it’s a stinker. The prequel thing is not well known either. When I got my special edition VHS copies back in the day they even numbered them chronologically and packaged Temple of Doom as the first of the three. The only reason I refused to accept that sequencing is that the joke with going for the pistol to shoot the swordsman by the bridge doesn’t work if you haven’t seen raiders.

    Raiders and Last Crusade still hold up just fine for me though. I’m going to check out the new one this weekend but I have heard bad rumblings so I’m going in with Temple of Doom expectations. Hopefully I don’t end up with Phantom Menace disappointment.

  5. Neal permalink
    May 27, 2008 10:39 pm

    Raiders rocked, plain and simple. Last Crusade, I really enjoyed the chemistry that Ford and Connery had, regardless if it was written that way or not, it played well. Temple…bah! I remember reading somewhere that even Lucas/Spielberg both agreed it was poorly made.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the new one with my son. I just introduced him to the classic, “Wayne’s World” the other day.

Leave a Reply

