Skip to content

Credit Card – update

June 17, 2008

Need your input here folks.  The question is at the bottom.

We put everything on our credit card and pay it off every month.  And we reap the benefits.  We have a State Farm credit card that accumlates State Farm Dollars.  Which we then turn around and use to pay our renter’s and car insurance.  It’s worked great thus far.  Few minor issues here and there, but overall, pleased with the service.  But, State Farm has always been behind the times when it comes to online options for interacting with your credit card (viewing reports, posting things in a timely manner, payment options).  They just switched to a new system… and somewhere in the mix up of old and new system the almost $1000 bill for this month just got paid… TWICE.

TURNS OUT.  I am an idiot.

I set up the payment twice.  Once under the old system and once under the new system.  Turns out there was a way to see the old system, I just didn’t look very hard.  This was my fault.  The guy on the phone wasn’t up to par, but I almost put him in a bad spot.  So, my apologies to State Farm.

Don’t know if we’ll switch or not now, but I’m still curious…

What credit card(s) do you use?  What perk(s) do they have?

p.p.s  My dad has wisely said: “Son, it’s not that you mess up.  Everyone does.  It’s how you respond to your mess up that matters.”  That’s the deciding factor in customer service for me.  I’m still not thrilled with how the guy handled the situation, but in all fairness it was my fault.  So, there you go.  My bad State Farm.  My bad.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ian Yetter permalink
    June 17, 2008 2:21 pm

    I don’t think anyone should use a credit card companies stop charging business that you use a cc at. Right now most cc charge a business 2% of the purchase price. This can really add up the more you use it. A lot of businesses work on tight profit margins sometimes 3-5%. If they then have to pay 2% to VISA how can anyone make money? I think i read someone where that CC companies made over 50 billion last year on these charges. You may think you are beating a CC company by not paying interest but the charges they pass on then get passed on to you through the retailer. I use my debit card for all purchases that I don’t have cash for as debit cards (most) charge a flat .05 to .10 per transaction.

  2. June 17, 2008 3:21 pm

    See Ian, that’s why I love it when you comment; you give me something to think about!

  3. Jeana permalink
    June 17, 2008 5:58 pm

    That’s really interesting, Ian. I’m glad I read that comment. Are there banks that offer cash back or reward incentives? I know Bank of America has the “Keep the Change” program which seems pretty cool. I wonder if there are other programs like “U Promise” that you can attach to your debit card to get rewards. I’m looking forward to other responses here. Great topic.

  4. June 19, 2008 8:24 am

    You can review credit cards on http://www.bankrate.com and see which ones have the best deals. We personally use Discover for its cashback. It has a good website, no annual fee, and i love that I can make a cash payments at any Sears store. I also have it linked to my U promise account.

  5. June 19, 2008 6:49 pm

    See I may be basis in that I work for a credit card company but I don’t see anything wrong with them if they are used right.

    My suggestion would be to go with the Chase Freedom Card. Can be either a Mastercard or Visa. It has a cashback option and also points option. No annual fee. It has a multiple of online options including getting the bill there, making payments, setting up reoccuring payments, and more.

    I can get you more info on it or most cards if you like.

Leave a Reply

