Skip to content

Time

June 23, 2008

I love time off.  I love not having responsibility.  But it is a dangerous, fickle beast.  For the first time, in… at least months, I was bored last night.  Didn’t know what to do with myself.  Weird feeling.

Then realized this morning that with no deadlines/school pressures hanging over my head, I began to overanalyze everything.  Cause I have the time to.  I think that’s why the sick part of me likes to remain busy.  I am not so good at a balanced self-analysis.

So, I may fire up an old computer game I haven’t dug into in ages.  I just started Prince Caspian again.  I have a couple other books I want to finish soon.  But eh, we’ll see.

About Caspian.  Recently got an email from a friend wondering what the deal was with Bacchus and Silenus towards the end of the book.  Roman mythology names.  Much revelry.  Grapes (Bacchus and Silenus had a large liking of wine in Roman myth).  Don’t know what to make of it.  A lot of wackos out there think it was Lewis saying debauchery is okay and that he was a heretic who had Aslan leading the sin parties, etc.  I don’t buy that.  Lewis was way too smart and intentional to do something as dumb as that.  But what was Lewis doing?

Any guesses?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2008 4:12 pm

    Nice find Jeana! So then, the two revelers are expressions of the joy and freedom found in Christ when Christ is overseeing the revelry. I like it. And I think it fits.

    Anybody else want to chime in or correct?

Leave a Reply

