Skip to content

Just convinced

October 22, 2008

I’ve been struggling with this election.  The mental pro/con list is pretty equal for me for both candidates (with both candidates have long con sides).  If I had more energy, I would go through the lists here and now.  But suffice it to say, it’s been a struggle.

But I think this article just tipped the scales: Would the Last Honest Reporter Please Turn On the Lights?

HT: Slothboy over at Unrealistic Expectations.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2008 9:28 pm

    Interesting article. I do however have to disagree with him. I’ve been reading many sources and taken particular interest in the current financial meltdown. I think it’s overly simplistic to say that this was caused just by the housing bubble bursting (interest rate cuts, economic stimulus after 9/11, and more helped create this perfect storm), let alone that it’s the fault of Democrats (Both Clinton & Bush administrations, as well as Bernanke & Greenspan, and we as citizens have pieces of this pie). If you’re interested in learning more about this explained in a clear way, I recommend the Planet Money podcast. It was started last month with the expressed purpose of helping us lay folk understand what’s going on. Thanks for giving your thoughts & struggles with the candidates. What’s the climate like there up north about them?

  2. October 22, 2008 9:33 pm

    Dang it Greg. Don’t make me go thinking again. Uggh.

    Up here in MA? Obama in a landslide. Not anywhere even resembling the slightest chance of close.

  3. Evan permalink
    October 22, 2008 9:59 pm

    So which way did that article tip you?

    JOKE!

    I’m almost glad we live in MA this year. I can vote for Obama, know that it wouldn’t have done any good otherwise, and if he’s awesome I get to say I voted for him. Then I will be living in VA at the beginning of his second term so I can make a good decision then!

  4. October 23, 2008 10:26 am

    That’s a good article. I shouldn’t be surprised, but I still am, that the media continues to paint this as solely the fault of the Bush administration when there are actual videos from 2004 of Democratic congressman denying that anything is wrong with Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac and that we do not have a crisis. (http://www.rushlimbaugh.com/home/daily/site_092908/content/01125107.guest.html) It would be so nice to believe that we could get the big picture instead of just a partial look.

    Interesting point about NOW losing credibility during the Clinton Administration. I had not realized that connection. I have heard they are not attracting enough young women to keep the cause going.

    (Off topic: I like the new layout)

  5. Slothboy permalink
    October 23, 2008 12:01 pm

    The subprime housing crisis is a huge part of the issue. Banks wouldn’t be failing if this wasn’t happening.

    This video gives excellent, substantiated evidence about the cause of the crisis and the ways that Obama has benefited.

  6. Slothboy permalink
    October 23, 2008 12:06 pm

    another good one from the same dude.

Leave a Reply

