Skip to content

Intervention

January 17, 2009

So a few big things going on here.

1) Food – Steph’s mom has pancreatic cancer.  Chemo’s not really doing anything.  So Steph’s mom is changing to a radically vegan diet.  As a means of support, we’re following suit… to an extent.  We’re calling it quazi-vegan.  We’re still using the word vegan (Evan!) because normal vegetarians don’t look at the amount of processing, etc. that “okay” food goes through.  We are.  There have been success stories of the radical diet helping those with cancer, so we’ll hopeful this will make a big impact in Mother-in-law’s life.  And quite honestly, I’m excited about the health change for us.

2) The Brew-crew swings into South Hamilton this week.   We’re looking forward to hanging out for a week.  Just chillin’ and letting the kids play.  And eating cannoli’s at Mike’s Pastries.  🙂

3) My good friends (thanks guys!) had an intervention for me on Thursday.  I was signed up for 3 exegesis classes this upcoming semester.  You know, the semester when our new baby is coming.  Yeah, they all basically laughed at me, told me I was a moron and needed to ditch one and sign up for an elective instead.  Friday, I did so.  Load this next semester:

  1. Finish Theology of the Pentateuch Semlink (due in early March, will hope to have it done by mid February)
  2. Exegesis of Mark (taking it pass/fail… woo hoo!)
  3. Exegesis of Exodus
  4. The Early Church (focusing mostly on the church fathers).  Lots of reading… but the difference here is: it’s all in English.  🙂  And the final paper is not 40 pages.

Funny story about the intervention: I was talking with my Exodus professor on Friday.  I explained my (new) Spring schedule.  I told her I was going from 3 to 2 exegesis classes.  She said… “Yeah, that was a good intervention” and then proceeded to tell me about the semester she had a student take 3 exegesis classes… and the student ran herself into the ground and was buried and had to get extensions and… yeah.  Good call friends.  Good call indeed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2009 1:26 am

    Mike’s…I’ve heard of that. I’m glad you have friends who can be honest with you.

  2. Maria permalink
    January 18, 2009 8:37 am

    That sounds like amazing friends! It’s good to have them around!

  3. January 27, 2009 3:38 pm

    I heard about your intervention, as you call it.
    dood… you done gone crazy to sign up for all that.

Leave a Reply

