Skip to content

Whew

March 9, 2009

I still don’t know really if Steph has passed her kidney stones.  She hasn’t really talked about them in light of the last two weeks we’ve had.

Week before last (I think I’m getting my general dates right here… ) the girls got uber-sick: vomiting, major runny tummies, general exhaustedness.  One night I got wiped out… may have been the same thing, but thankfully I didn’t have the same symptoms as the girls.  Just wiped out and drained.  A solid night’s sleep seemed to have done the trick.  Then last week, I think the girls and Steph got some type of food poisoning/virus deal.  More of the vomiting, etc.  Steph didn’t get it as bad as the girls, but our house was definitely developing a clinic type feel.  Thankfully I was spared that round.

Then today, I get a call from Steph in the middle of class.  She’s been throwing up for over an hour and could I come home as soon as possible.  Oi.  Call the midwife, she thinks it’s a recycled bug from the sickness the last two weeks, let’s try some Pedialyte (works for adults too!), give it a couple hours, go from there.  Blue Pedialyte goes down okay for a couple hours.  Then it changes direction… and I’m scrambling to get someone to hang out with our napping girls (thanks Sarah!) so I can take Steph down to the Birth Center (where the little one will be born (Lord willing), right across from the hospital).  Get the saline drip going, get the Zofran going, get a little sleep, one more IV for good measure, hit the store on the way home for some ginger ale (and Coke for me!) … and we’re back home a little after dinner time.  I’m exhausted.  But we’re home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 8:09 am

    dang man. I wish I was there to help.

  2. Rob permalink
    March 13, 2009 10:07 am

    Dear “AllentheHusband”,
    I know this is perhaps a strange request but you posted a post several years ago with a link that is no longer live and is not found and I was wondering if you had the file associated with this old post and link. The post was:
    https://allenthehusband.wordpress.com/2004/07/07/that-crazy-sailhamer/

    and the file was:
    messiah_and_hebrew_bible.pdf

    I am very interested in what Sailhamer had to say here. If you could send me a copy, I would greatly appreciate it.
    Rob

Leave a Reply

