Skip to content

Chess

June 30, 2009

I like playing chess.  Played it as a kid at school during rainy recesses.  Played my dad whenever he was willing.  Played it during that free time between 1st and 2nd period in high school when there was nothing better to do.  I think I am drawn to the strategy of it; the combination of pieces working together, the way the same start can go a million different directions.  Easy to learn, hard to master.

But admittedly, I’m not that good at it.  I’m alright.  I’ll stumble into a good move every once in a while.  But I’m certainly not consistent.  I think that’s another reason why I love playing it so much: the hope that this next game will finally be the one in which I put things together.  But it hasn’t happened yet.  I’ll let you know if it does.

What game do you love to play, but you’re not very good at?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Fogey permalink
    June 30, 2009 2:19 pm

    you mean i actually have a shot at winning?

    woo hoo!

  2. Maria permalink
    July 1, 2009 9:46 am

    Basketball!

  3. July 1, 2009 1:44 pm

    Volleyball…yep, definitely volleyball. I am too short and nonathletic to play well, but I enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

