Skip to content

LL from Surgery

August 22, 2009

Life Lessons from Back Surgery

  • I already knew this from all of Lizzie’s time in the hospital, but it was once again confirmed this week: making nice with the nurses (and having good nurses) makes all the difference in the world.
  • Having a book with you in the pre-op and post-op stages really is a great way to start conversations.
  • General anesthesia does funny things to your body.
  • I’m not the biggest fan of television, but boy, in a situation like post-op care, it really does help time pass, especially when you’re head is too cloudy from medicine to do academic reading.
  • Your body can be anxious and tense without your mind actively telling the rest of you to be tense.  The strength and role of your subconscious has never been so blatantly apparent than Thursday evening.
  • This whole situation is yet another evidence that I have really good friends.
  • This whole situation is yet another evidence that email is a really good invention.
  • Thursday night, walking around the unit with my nurse, with zero pain in my right leg — I don’t think I’ve cried tears of joy like that except when each of my girls were born.  I still get choked up talking about it.
  • Percocet + the lingering effects of gen. anesthesia make me very sleepy.
  • zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

