Skip to content

Recover to Prepare

August 30, 2009

The leg feels good.  The back, not as much.  Still pretty sore.  The meds help most days.  Course, most days I’m annoyingly tired.  Me thinks there’s a connection there.  My first day back at work was last Thursday.  From the physical standpoint, I held up fine.

While I am able to do simple things like pour a glass of water and brush my teeth, I am prevented from lifting anything above 5 lbs.  This means Steph now takes out the garbage, is the only one who can get Gracie out of her bed, brings in the groceries.  Not fun.  My personal sense of manliness has certainly taken a back seat in all of this.

I can tell my back is healing though.  Getting into, and up from, bed is easier.  I am able to drive again (when I don’t take meds, don’t worry, no funny business).  I’m learning to kneel correctly.  Our friends have been a huge help as well.  A prepared dinner every other day, folks coming over in the evening  to watch Gracie so Steph can keep going to Bible study, taking the two older sisters on walks to the playground so sleep can occur mid-day.  We are in a great community here.

I have an appointment with the doc this Wednesday to check the incision and make sure things are healing well from an informed perspective.  I’ll also bring up the point of physical therapy and when that business can start.

So that’s my back.  Now to other things:

Steph’s mom continues to deteriorate.  Death appears imminent at this point.  I would love to look back on this post next year and see how wrong I was and see how much I underestimated God.  But I’m just not there.  Best (non-medical) guesses are a couple months at most.

We’re getting ready for Steph to take Gracie out there for a while.  She’ll probably leave mid-Sept.  Could be two weeks, could be two months.  My mom has agreed to come out here while Steph’s gone so that someone can watch the girls while I try to do the whole school and work thing.  Not a fun scenario anyway you frame it, but it’s gotta happen.  Tears have abounded.  I’ve only lost grandparents previously.  This is hard for me and it’s not even my mom (though she certainly has become that over the course of 9+ years of knowing Steph).  I can’t imagine what Steph’s experiencing.  The desire to be there conflicting with the maternal desire to be with all of her children.

I was also going to talk about the upcoming school year and everything academic, but I don’t have the energy.  Another post to be determined later.

For the time being though, we think about happier things as my folks roll into town tomorrow.  Looking forward to a fun week and my folks meeting Gracie for the first time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 8:02 am

    Allen,

    I miss you, Steph, and the girls. I wish I was still around so I could help you guys. I’m happy to hear your back is healing up, though! That’s fantastic. I can’ t wait until you are pain free and mobile. That will be a great day indeed. You’re a good man, Allen whether you can take out the trash or not.

    I’m so sorry to hear about Steph’s mom. That’s about all I can say.

    Peace to you. Really.

    evan

Leave a Reply

